Wiki Posts
Search

Sofitel in Australia - experiences?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 28, 2007, 2:50 am
Original Poster

Programs: QF FF/ AEROPLAN
Sofitel in Australia - experiences?

Hi all. I'm a newbie so please be gentle. I searched first and found nothing so I'm going to ask....

Like most on this forum a travel a lot for work. I like to try a different hotel each time where possible (location has to be convenient for business) - just to compare. If I do stay as a repeat guest, I like Westin....

I recently had occasion to stay at two Sofitel properties for the first time - one in Mel and one on the Gold Coast. The GC property was the best hotel on the south end of the Coast I have encountered - contemporary style, comfortable, GREAT pool - with all facilities I required.

The Melbourne hotel I found very average - for what I paid, I thought service, F&B etc was not of great quality. The rooms were a bit ho-hum (great view excepted) - bathrooms small. I paid an extra $86 for use of "Club" facilities that didn't really exist. There is not dedicated floor as I had expected.

Is this indicative of the chain that quality varies greatly? I was considering trying the Sydney hotel as a test, but would appreciate others comments.

Cheers,
Old Apr 28, 2007, 11:01 am
Original Member

Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Yes, your result is typical of Sofitel. Very inconsistent chain with a few quite good properties, the rest average to below average. Most other chains are more consistent and predictable. The SYD Sofitel is a bit better than MEL, however I would not categorize it as one of the 10 best hotels in SYD, so don't expect too much and you can do a lot better.
Old Apr 29, 2007, 8:00 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge

Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques