Website login problem

Old Sep 9, 16, 6:09 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: hilton, hyatt, ihg, accor, best western, marriott, starwood
Posts: 74
Website login problem

Hi,

I go to klm.com and i click flying blue link in navigation. there is no login link on top. when i click award booking, the page has a blank section on top because it is supposed to log me in but it's not log me in. Do anyone see this problem? or it's just me? i do have my popup and java enabled to accept popup.
greenfrog2015 is offline  
Old Sep 9, 16, 6:11 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: YOW
Programs: Flying Blue Plat, Accor Gold
Posts: 339
Try not using Chrome if you are

I had similar situation when using Chrome, but it mainly about the captcha that was not supported; when I turned to IE, everything goes well
tbaiyun is offline  
Old Sep 9, 16, 8:03 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: CPT,AMS
Posts: 4,261
I have issues with KLM website from time to time in Chrome, deleting the *.klm.com cookies resolves the issue... until the next time few days/weeks later.
Ditto is offline  
Old Sep 10, 16, 8:08 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: AMS
Programs: BA KL LH Hilton Marriott
Posts: 1,113
I had this problem yesterday (not Chrome) for just a short time. After I came back a while later it was OK again.
sbams is offline  
Old Sep 16, 16, 5:31 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glaschu
Programs: FB Platinum for Life; BAEC Gold; Accor Gold.
Posts: 2,535
Lately, I have been unable to log on to KLM using IE (11), as the Captcha check box does not appear. But I can log in using Firefox.

I find that more and more website designers/programmers are becoming 'lazy' these days - it's all to easy now to blame IE (or Chrome) for being non-standard. These guys should man up to the task: websites should work with whatever browser the users prefer ... and they should be tested!

-- Henry
Henry III is offline  
Old Sep 16, 16, 6:01 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: CPT,AMS
Posts: 4,261
Originally Posted by Henry III View Post
These guys should man up to the task: websites should work with whatever browser the users prefer ... and they should be tested!
It's not so simple as it sounds, especially with new versions of firefox/chrome released all the time, major changes to IE between versions, and ohh wait... there is also safari, opera, etc. etc.
It also a lot of the times depend on which extensions you have installed, what cookies are stored on your pc and many more factors, so even if a someone will test the website functionality for a week he will not be able to detect an issue an end user will see after doing some sequence of actions etc.
Ditto is offline  
Old Sep 16, 16, 6:06 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Platinum: KL Gold: A3 Rust: BA
Posts: 26,022
They should just drop the stupid and unnecessary Captcha step
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Sep 18, 16, 6:26 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: EDI
Programs: FB Platinum; IHG Rewards Club Diamond; HHonors Silver
Posts: 377
Originally Posted by irishguy28 View Post
They should just drop the stupid and unnecessary Captcha step
Especially as Captcha is blocked in China, which is a relatively major market. This makes login impossible unless you have a LinkedIn account (Facebook and Twitter are also blocked). I have asked KLM about this over the past six months and they just say that they are working on it.
Ardecos is offline  
Old Sep 26, 16, 7:18 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glaschu
Programs: FB Platinum for Life; BAEC Gold; Accor Gold.
Posts: 2,535
Today, there is no "Log In" button appearing at all on the KLM home page (neither in IE 11 nor in Firefox)!

No (easy) way to access my account. So I tried going through the "Flying Blue" link button, via the various options to get to "Book an Award," at which stage I was presented with some gobbledegook in Korean!

Tried changing country/language, but to no avail. In the end, I had to login via the Air France site. All to get an option for a GLA-BKK r/t in J, going out via Shanghai (33+ hours) and back via Jakarta (29+ hours) for 200,000 miles.

Hrmmph.

-- Henry
Henry III is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 8:13 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 13,890
Has worked just fine for me both yesterday and today, but on the other hand OLCI was an epic struggle involving both the KL and AF sites.

Johan
johan rebel is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 8:15 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Platinum: KL Gold: A3 Rust: BA
Posts: 26,022
maybe they just wanted you to check in at the airport....

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/klm-f...ort-check.html

irishguy28 is offline  
Old Oct 24, 16, 3:10 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MAN
Programs: FB Gold
Posts: 291
Originally Posted by Ardecos View Post
Especially as Captcha is blocked in China, which is a relatively major market. This makes login impossible unless you have a LinkedIn account (Facebook and Twitter are also blocked). I have asked KLM about this over the past six months and they just say that they are working on it.
22 October:: the Captcha was blocked in China- no way to access klm.com
Not an IE or Chrome issue, but seems the Captcha is blocked by the "Great Firewall" I was forced to use VPN
China is one of their big markets !
MANman is offline  
Old Oct 24, 16, 3:59 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: AMS
Posts: 1,616
The login links at the top are loaded asynchronously -- sometimes they're a little sluggish and you need to just wait a bit.

Otherwise, try logging in on this page: https://www.klm.com/ams/account/secu...eSummaryFB.htm
CyBeR is offline  
Old Oct 24, 16, 12:39 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: EDI
Programs: FB Platinum; IHG Rewards Club Diamond; HHonors Silver
Posts: 377
Originally Posted by MANman View Post
22 October:: the Captcha was blocked in China- no way to access klm.com
Not an IE or Chrome issue, but seems the Captcha is blocked by the "Great Firewall" I was forced to use VPN
China is one of their big markets !
I think it is because Captcha is either a Google product, or Google-related and hence blocked in China. Depending on where you are VPN may or may not work. Last time I was in China it worked in Chengdu but not in Beijing. So far, using LinkedIn is the only reliable way of getting onto the KLM Website that I have found.

It does seem that KLM are thoroughly disinterested in finding an alternative mechanism.
Ardecos is offline  
Old Oct 24, 16, 3:52 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glaschu
Programs: FB Platinum for Life; BAEC Gold; Accor Gold.
Posts: 2,535
Originally Posted by Ardecos View Post
...
It does seem that KLM are thoroughly disinterested in finding an alternative mechanism.
Maybe not so much disinterested but unable to find a solution!

I work in IT (though not website stuff) and I really understand how difficult it is to keep up with manufacturer-driven changes ...

But, hey! These so-called IT experts are paid good wages: if they don't (or can't) do their job, fire them! There are plenty of good programmers around who can really do the stuff (those who can read instructions, guidelines, etc), and who are prepared to test their software before releasing it.

Is this the beginning of the End of the West? "I have a piece of paper that says I can write software." So, pay me €70,000* per annum and I'll screw your system. Or: "I don't have a piece of paper, but I have all these references ..." Pay me €50,000* and I'll get the job done!

Wake up, world! Why are we still servants to the system? (The system that tells us that idiots are clever, and that those who have economics degrees are the best bankers.)

-- Henry

* Actual values chose at random - representative for the sake of argument.
Henry III is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread