Wifi on JAL 009

Reply

Old Mar 11, 14, 3:18 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 105
Wifi on JAL 009

Hi guys - quick question for any of you who might know.

Is it possible to connect to the JAL Wifi service via my phone and then make my phone a hotspot so I can share the access with my GF, etc?

Thanks
bennyblanco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 14, 3:13 pm
  #2  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,415
Originally Posted by bennyblanco View Post
Hi guys - quick question for any of you who might know.

Is it possible to connect to the JAL Wifi service via my phone and then make my phone a hotspot so I can share the access with my GF, etc?

Thanks
I haven't tried that before and not sure how hotspot access work. If all the traffics goes through your phone as if they are originated from it (e.g. with the same MAC address), then I don't see how it can be blocked. Let use know how it goes.
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 14, 1:52 am
  #3  
Formerly known as MrFlyer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: HKG / YVR
Programs: AA EXP ✈ CX GO ✈ A3*G | HH GO - IC AMB
Posts: 449
Are you sure your phone can operate as a Wi-Fi repeater? Most phones I know of can only function as a hotspot by sharing a cellular connection.
yamanote8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 14, 2:20 am
  #4  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,415
Originally Posted by yamanote8 View Post
Are you sure your phone can operate as a Wi-Fi repeater? Most phones I know of can only function as a hotspot by sharing a cellular connection.
It's possible to do this through bluetooth for example but it may require an app or jailbreak if that's iOS we are talking about.
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 14, 9:24 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 6_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/536.26 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0 Mobile/10B142 Safari/8536.25)

Use laptop to acess internet thru phone as a usb modam, then share internet. Better try on ground first since its a pain to work this out in air
kaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 14, 7:59 pm
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac Falls, VA
Programs: AA Plat 2MM, MR Gold, Avis Pref
Posts: 40,924
Originally Posted by kaka View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 6_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/536.26 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0 Mobile/10B142 Safari/8536.25)

Use laptop to acess internet thru phone as a usb modam, then share internet. Better try on ground first since its a pain to work this out in air
Did this ever work?
TrojanHorse is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 14, 9:38 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CTS
Programs: AA:1MM
Posts: 743
Originally Posted by TrojanHorse View Post
Did this ever work?
I think what he's trying to say is have 2 Wifi connections:

connection 1: connect to wifi from JAL
connection 2: create ad-hoc network to share

That sounds like it could be done. But really you'd have to debug that quite a bit on the ground me-thinks. or... you could just pay up for each person instead of breaking the T&C
virmaior is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 14, 1:28 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac Falls, VA
Programs: AA Plat 2MM, MR Gold, Avis Pref
Posts: 40,924
Originally Posted by virmaior View Post
I think what he's trying to say is have 2 Wifi connections:

connection 1: connect to wifi from JAL
connection 2: create ad-hoc network to share

That sounds like it could be done. But really you'd have to debug that quite a bit on the ground me-thinks. or... you could just pay up for each person instead of breaking the T&C
It was more of a question about whether it worked or not thats all. I didn't think it would be that simple to beat the system, hence the question
TrojanHorse is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 14, 6:38 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CTS
Programs: AA:1MM
Posts: 743
Originally Posted by TrojanHorse View Post
It was more of a question about whether it worked or not thats all. I didn't think it would be that simple to beat the system, hence the question
Actually, I'm 90% certain that this would be very difficult to detect due to the way NAT works -- i.e., if you can setup your side, then you can almost certainly do it.
virmaior is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: