Community
Wiki Posts
Search

SEA to RDU with miles

Search this Thread

Old May 13, 2015, 12:35 pm
Original Poster

SEA to RDU with miles

Hi! I'm new to the points game and am seeking some advice. I need to fly SEA to RDU June 19 and return June 21. I have 55,000 Avios, 55,000 AA miles, and 30,000 AMEX points, and still can find a ticket! Any suggestions would be so appreciated!!!
Old May 13, 2015, 1:10 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Welcome to FT!

What have you done so far to find a ticket? If you've checked aa.com, delta.com, and aeroplan.com for award seats and found nothing at rates you are willing to pay, then you may just have to pay cash or redeem your MR points as cash to purchase a regular ticket.

Since AA, Aeroplan (an MR transfer partner whose miles can be redeemed on UA), and Delta all offer one-way awards now, I would search separately for the outbound and the return flights on each program's website.
Old May 13, 2015, 1:48 pm
Original Poster

guv1976 Thank you so much for your response! I have only checked the AA and BA websites, searching legs of the journey (connecting in CLT, MIA, PHL, JFK, ORD) as well as simply SEA - RDU.

I didn't know that Delta and Aeroplan were options for me. Is that with my AMEX points?
Old May 13, 2015, 1:52 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by Princessswiper
guv1976 Thank you so much for your response! I have only checked the AA and BA websites, searching legs of the journey (connecting in CLT, MIA, PHL, JFK, ORD) as well as simply SEA - RDU.

I didn't know that Delta and Aeroplan were options for me. Is that with my AMEX points?
Yes. Aeroplan (for United) and Delta are both Amex MR transfer partners.