Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > India
Reload this Page >

Visa needed?

Visa needed?

Old Sep 29, 17, 11:15 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ Diamond, Jiffypark Manhattan Gold
Posts: 4,222
Visa needed?

Ok, I'm wondering if someone can clear this up for me. I've read some conflicting info.

I'm on a Canadian passport, transiting through DEL for 6 hours. Routing is CPH-DEL-BKK on Air India.

1) Do I need a visa?
2) If I do need a visa, can it be an e-visa, or better yet a visa on arrival?

I've seen info that indicates all entrants need a visa, but I've also found info regarding transit visas, but nothing that seemed direct/accurate enough for me to believe it 100%.
drvannostren is offline  
Old Sep 29, 17, 2:15 pm
  #2  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 38,318
If on a single ticket you don't need any visa to transit.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Sep 29, 17, 2:51 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,062
Originally Posted by drvannostren View Post
I've seen info that indicates all entrants need a visa
as oliver2002 states, you don't need a visa if you are on a single ticket....if not then either a transit visa or a e-visa would be required....
Keyser is online now  
Old Sep 29, 17, 4:17 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ Diamond, Jiffypark Manhattan Gold
Posts: 4,222
OK so Iíll offer up more info just rob be sure. I donít wanna get to India and get sent home!

im on 2 one way tickets. Here they are. Theyíre on points if anyone is questioning the strange routing, Iím also trying to fly products I never have.

Ticket 1
YVR-SFO-CPH-DEL-BKK (all economy If that matters)

Ticket 2
BKK-KUL-SIN-ICN-LAX-YVR

Does they change anything? Also does anyone have a link to an officia govt site that I might be able to reference? What I saw was mostly from like...ILS or BLS something like that. It almost looked like a visa service site but this is part of why Iím asking. I didnít trust it on itís own or with the visa sites I looked on.
drvannostren is offline  
Old Sep 29, 17, 4:24 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,062
Originally Posted by drvannostren View Post
OK so I’ll offer up more info just rob be sure. I don’t wanna get to India and get sent home!

im on 2 one way tickets. Here they are. They’re on points if anyone is questioning the strange routing, I’m also trying to fly products I never have.

Ticket 1
YVR-SFO-CPH-DEL-BKK (all economy If that matters)

Ticket 2
BKK-KUL-SIN-ICN-LAX-YVR

Does they change anything? Also does anyone have a link to an officia govt site that I might be able to reference? What I saw was mostly from like...ILS or BLS something like that. It almost looked like a visa service site but this is part of why I’m asking. I didn’t trust it on it’s own or with the visa sites I looked on.
this won't make a difference....as long as ticket 1 is one through ticket you won't require a visa to transit through del....
Keyser is online now  
Old Sep 29, 17, 5:06 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,937
Be prepared for strange and lengthy transit procedures. Maybe its changed... but we transited BOM a few years ago...and with more than 2 hours...we only just got through in time....so much for a Lounge visit between flights!
trooper is offline  
Old Sep 29, 17, 8:34 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,062
Originally Posted by trooper View Post
Be prepared for strange and lengthy transit procedures. Maybe its changed... but we transited BOM a few years ago...and with more than 2 hours...we only just got through in time....so much for a Lounge visit between flights!
transited through bom a couple of days ago....took me less than 20 minutes from the time i stepped of the plane to the time i got to the lounge....
Keyser is online now  
Old Sep 29, 17, 9:26 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ Diamond, Jiffypark Manhattan Gold
Posts: 4,222
Yea, I've got like 6 hours, so I'm not too worried about the time. I was just really concerned when I found out I MIGHT need a visa. I'm usually on top of those things, but this one kinda slipped my mind.

But it sounds like I'm in the clear. Which is great news, cuz there'd only be about 4 business days where I could give up my passport.
drvannostren is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: