Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > India-Based Airlines
Reload this Page >

AI revised baggage plan to and from Newark to India?

AI revised baggage plan to and from Newark to India?

Old Apr 16, 19, 6:46 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Franklin TWP, NJ
Programs: Co-Onepass, Delta-Useless Skymiles
Posts: 642
AI revised baggage plan to and from Newark to India?

Hey is anyone aware of the new revised baggage plane on AI for flights departing/arrival into Newark has went from 2x23 kg's to 1 - 23kg bag, is this because fo the the recent air space restrictions or is AI trying to take advantage of the situation with Jet airways?

Revised Baggage Allowance
Dhamal is offline  
Old Apr 16, 19, 9:53 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold, Marriott & SPG Plat, Hilton Gold, ShangriLa Jade, Enterprise Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 1,479
How are they taking advantage of 9W's situation? 9W hasn't flown to EWR or USA in years. If they wanted to make a quick buck they would charge for the IND - UK/EU routes. That has really opened up for AI. Or the DEL-EWR route because UA has temporarily stopped flying that route. AI isn't opportunistic... they shrug their shoulders and carry on their own way.

It's the airspace problem. Even though it makes little sense because DEL-EWR & DEL-IAD all should have the same problem. Maybe loading on the BOM sector is more esp. for cargo.
PiperAtGatesofDawn is offline  
Old Apr 18, 19, 1:32 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,563
i guess this is just another way to make some money....lots of international airlines charge to check-in a second bag....ai seems to be doing the same now....
Dhamal likes this.
Keyser is offline  
Old Apr 19, 19, 1:45 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold, Marriott & SPG Plat, Hilton Gold, ShangriLa Jade, Enterprise Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 1,479
I've flown this route with them many many times over the past few years and I can remember at least 4-5 occasions when they weren't able to load everybody's bags because they didn't get the length of runway they needed to take off with a heavy load. Sometimes it was runway work, sometimes rains, visibility etc. I can tell you from first hand experience they do have issues.

I suspect it's the amount of cargo they get from BOM + having to go around PAK - can't be 100% sure of this of course.

If they wanted to make money they would have charged the DEL-EWR route because UA has temporarily stopped flying that route so they're the only direct flight. Most airlines doing BOM-NYC (1 stops) allow 2x23 so all they would be doing with this move is losing marketshare. Then again this is AI...
Dhamal likes this.
PiperAtGatesofDawn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread