Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

[HYATT NEWBIE LOUNGE - 2016] Ask Your Questions Here (flame/snark free)

Old Nov 18, 2023, 11:58 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: jbeckett
The following info may be helpful for all newbies:

Hyatt issued CAT 1-4 award at 30 night milestone: expiration 6 months later.
Hyatt issued CAT 1-7 award at 60 night milestone: expiration 6 months later.
Chase WoH credit card issued CAT 1-4 award at annual renewal: expiration 12 months later.
Chase WoH credit card issued CAT 1-4 award at $15k spend: expiration 12 months later.
Hyatt issued CAT 1-4 Brand explorer award (for every 5 brands): expiration 12 months later.

Print Wikipost

[HYATT NEWBIE LOUNGE - 2016] Ask Your Questions Here (flame/snark free)

Old Jan 14, 2016, 6:42 am
  #46  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NJ
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
Posts: 46,919
Most often, yes. However, I have had the situation where the hotel did not release the DSU back to the account.

A call to customer service fixes it quickly.
Mary2e is offline  
Old Jan 15, 2016, 4:37 am
  #47  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Between AMS and BRU
Posts: 8,852
Originally Posted by Skysky
As a few others have mentioned in the DSU thread, DSU hasn't been deducting since the upgrade. I'm just wondering if I cancel the booking will it correctly credit my DSU award again.
My DSU was deducted after the upgrade... and cancelling should return it as well.
RTW1 is offline  
Old Jan 15, 2016, 3:13 pm
  #48  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Mary2e
Most often, yes. However, I have had the situation where the hotel did not release the DSU back to the account.

A call to customer service fixes it quickly.
Originally Posted by RTW1
My DSU was deducted after the upgrade... and cancelling should return it as well.

Thanks for the responses.

Mine still hasn't been deducted. Still remains at 4. I upgraded 2 stays and have. Confirmation email for one but not the other (although when I go and modify reservation, I can see that it's already been processed as a suite)
Skysky is offline  
Old Jan 16, 2016, 7:03 am
  #49  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, AC, WS, MR TIT
Posts: 8,680
Can you use a DSU to upgrade a room booked and paid fully with points?
NA-Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 16, 2016, 7:06 am
  #50  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: QF, VA, AC, Hyatt, Marriott
Posts: 3,803
Originally Posted by NA-Flyer
Can you use a DSU to upgrade a room booked and paid fully with points?
Unfortunately not. Points plus cash reservations are DSUable.
danger is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2016, 11:07 am
  #51  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.035MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CCC Elite+; MSC C-12; CWC Au-197; WoH Dis
Posts: 52,227
How does one search for DSU availability online?
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2016, 12:41 pm
  #52  
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sacramento
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, HH Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Amtrak Select
Posts: 1,354
Originally Posted by mahasamatman
How does one search for DSU availability online?
If the standard suite (lowest category suite) is available, it should be available. Call HGP to book.
joecool1885 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2016, 9:11 pm
  #53  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AS 75K; UA 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott LTP; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 56,883
Originally Posted by mahasamatman
How does one search for DSU availability online?
The DSU suite class for most commonly booked properties can be found in the Wiki in this thread: Official Confirmed Diamond Suite Upgrade Experiences - Master Thread.

If that class of suite shows as available for revenue booking, you should be able to DSU into it on a paid rate (and there's no reason to book anything beyond the cheapest available room if you're going to upgrade). It's unclear whether DSU upgrade inventory is limited for C+P bookings - there are reports both ways.
Kacee is online now  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 1:26 am
  #54  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, AC, WS, MR TIT
Posts: 8,680
Is there anyway to earn 20 GP points without staying in a Hyatt property or purchasing GP points?
NA-Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 6:48 am
  #55  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,860
Spend $10 at a restaurant on your Hyatt card.


Originally Posted by NA-Flyer
Is there anyway to earn 20 GP points without staying in a Hyatt property or purchasing GP points?
factory81 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 7:00 am
  #56  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, AC, WS, MR TIT
Posts: 8,680
Originally Posted by factory81
Spend $10 at a restaurant on your Hyatt card.
Can this be done in any Hyatt Int'l property or only US based ones?
NA-Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 9:09 am
  #57  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, AA Gold, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum
Posts: 83
2 stay credits possible from a 3 nights?

I have 3 nights (consecutive) coming up at a Hyatt. If I break the 3 nights into 1 paid, 1 points, 1 paid, would I get 2 stay credits? No other Hyatts are in the the area, or I would just change hotels in the middle.
vike is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 10:34 am
  #58  
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sacramento
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, HH Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Amtrak Select
Posts: 1,354
Originally Posted by vike
I have 3 nights (consecutive) coming up at a Hyatt. If I break the 3 nights into 1 paid, 1 points, 1 paid, would I get 2 stay credits? No other Hyatts are in the the area, or I would just change hotels in the middle.
It's a small possibility that you'd get 2 stay credits, but I wouldn't chance it. Often times consecutive nights, no matter the payment method, will be combined into a single stay.
joecool1885 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 2:39 pm
  #59  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, AC, WS, MR TIT
Posts: 8,680
Does anyone know the exact opening date of Hyatt Regency Riyadh, Saudi Arabia?

I am planning a visit there in April and I wonder if HR Riyadh will be opened or not!
NA-Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2016, 2:48 pm
  #60  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Programs: Marriott Plat Elite, Hilton Gold, Best Western Diamond
Posts: 32
Hi all,

My sister would like to transfer about 9500 Hyatt points to my account (I have less than 1000 points). I mailed in the form the week between Christmas and New Years and do not see any change to either account. I had heard this was supposedly a fast process. Should I send it in again, maybe via fax or something? thanks for any ideas.

Sari
sari75 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.