Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

Minimum Connection Time FRA

Minimum Connection Time FRA

Old Apr 12, 13, 12:31 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida
Programs: US CP, MR Gold, SPG Gold, Hyatt Plat
Posts: 438
Minimum Connection Time FRA

Coming back from FRA on US707. Looking at tacking on a little jaunt in IST for a few days at the tail end of the trip before I come back on 707. Trying to figure out the schedule. There is an LH flight ariving into FRA at 07:45 same day. This shows as a valid booking on US' website. Aside from the obvious risk of tight connection times on separate PNRs, the question is what is the minimum connection time in FRA, would 90 minutes be enough, also would LH print me a ticket for 707 in IST and interline the bag with separate PNRs? Thanks

Go Gators

Last edited by GNVGator; Apr 12, 13 at 12:38 pm
GNVGator is offline  
Old Apr 12, 13, 4:11 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PHL
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Lifetime Plat, SPG Plat, AMEX Plat, Hertz PC, Travels too Much Platinum
Posts: 3,290
If I'm reading this correctly, it'd be a 90 min minimum connect time:

[KVS Availability Tool 7.1.9 - Reference: Minimum Connection Time [MCT]: FRA/LH-US]
Code:
                                               DD  DI  ID  II   
STANDARD:         FRA                          045 045 045 045  

EXCEPTIONS:                                                     
A/L FLT-NBR  EQP    DEPARR AREA                                 

LH           TRN                               --- 090 --- ---  
US 0001-2199
Not sure on the interline with different PNRs. I don't think they'd have to. Is your FRA-CLT refundable where you wouldn't get stuck with a big change fee or refare if you missed it?
phlwookie is offline  
Old Apr 12, 13, 5:21 pm
  #3  
KVS
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 12,927
Arrow

Originally Posted by phlwookie View Post
If I'm reading this correctly, it'd be a 90 min minimum connect time:

[KVS Availability Tool 7.1.9 - Reference: Minimum Connection Time [MCT]: FRA/LH-US]
Code:
                                               DD  DI  ID  II   
STANDARD:         FRA                          045 045 045 045  

EXCEPTIONS:                                                     
A/L FLT-NBR  EQP    DEPARR AREA                                 

LH           TRN                               --- 090 --- ---  
US 0001-2199
The MCT is 45 minutes. The 90-minute exception is only for connections from Train (TRN)-operated LH 'flights'.

Originally Posted by phlwookie View Post
Not sure on the interline with different PNRs. I don't think they'd have to.
Shouldn't be an issue, as this is a *A to *A connection.
KVS is offline  
Old Apr 12, 13, 5:29 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PHL
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Lifetime Plat, SPG Plat, AMEX Plat, Hertz PC, Travels too Much Platinum
Posts: 3,290
Thanks. I don't think I'd ever be comfortable attempting a 45 min connection at FRA though as I'm not a marathon runner ...

I might be tempted to try it at MUC but still probably wouldn't do it.
phlwookie is offline  
Old Apr 13, 13, 8:16 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida
Programs: US CP, MR Gold, SPG Gold, Hyatt Plat
Posts: 438
I'm not certain any rational actor would be OK with a 45 minute connection in FRA. The place is massive and the US gate is conveniently cordoned off from the LH lounges near the higher international gates as a side note.

With that said anybody have experience interlining and getting tickets printed on separate PNRs?

Go Gators
GNVGator is offline  
Old Apr 13, 13, 10:55 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Programs: AAdvantage Platinum Pro, Hertz #1 Club Gold Five Star, IHG Platinum, Marriott Gold, HHonors Silver
Posts: 1,496
I have an upcoming Star Alliance itinerary I booked with my US Airways Dividend Miles which includes a connection in FRA. The layover is only 1 hour, 20 minutes and the connection is going from Lufthansa to Air Canada. Anyone know how far their gates are from each other? Will the 80 minute layover be problematic even if everything runs on time?
GNRMatt is online now  
Old Apr 13, 13, 11:23 am
  #7  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Travel Safety/Security & Texas, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUS / GRK
Programs: AA, HHonors, Hertz
Posts: 11,984
Originally Posted by GNRMatt View Post
I have an upcoming Star Alliance itinerary I booked with my US Airways Dividend Miles which includes a connection in FRA. The layover is only 1 hour, 20 minutes and the connection is going from Lufthansa to Air Canada. Anyone know how far their gates are from each other? Will the 80 minute layover be problematic even if everything runs on time?
As your question now doesn't have to do with US Airways, I'm moving your thread over to the Germany forum. I believe there are some existing threads there about MCT's at FRA.

Thanks!


aztimm
aztimm is offline  
Old Apr 13, 13, 11:47 am
  #8  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Coronavirus, Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,960
Check the first post of this thread about connecting between Lufthansa and *A flights in FRA.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/miles...on-thread.html
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Apr 23, 14, 11:15 pm
  #9  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: DFW
Programs: AAdvantage Platinum, Hilton HHonors Gold
Posts: 2,863
Hi,

I am on a LA flight MAD-FRA arriving in FRA at 6pm and I am then connecting to a JL flight leaving at 7.20pm... Will I make the connection? Apparently I will have to switch from terminal 1 to 2. Same PNR.

Thanks!
oneworld82 is offline  
Old Apr 24, 14, 6:36 am
  #10  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 39,877
Easy peasy. LAN arrives in 1C, JAL departs from 2D, just take the skytrain from 1B to 2D.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Jun 2, 14, 2:56 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ARN
Programs: EB Silver, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 119
Is a intra-schengen BSL-FRA-HAM (all on LH) doable with a 45' connecting time; probably hand baggage only. Thanks.
grischtu is offline  
Old Jun 2, 14, 8:20 am
  #12  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Coronavirus, Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,960
Originally Posted by grischtu View Post
Is a intra-schengen BSL-FRA-HAM (all on LH) doable with a 45' connecting time; probably hand baggage only. Thanks.
You may like to check the FRA Connection thread in the Lufthansa/Miles & More forum. The connection is a little tight but should be ok provided your incoming flight is not very late. The arrival from BSL is likely to be a bus gate.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Apr 29, 15, 1:58 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Programs: *A Gold (EuroBonus)
Posts: 70
Hello, I hope I can borrow this thread.

Is a 45min connection at FRA doable?
I'm concidering a LH99 arriving at 10.05 from MUC and depart onwards to JFK on LH400 at 10.50

Seems crazy to me, but it comes up when searching for tickets. All LH flights.
Soph is offline  
Old Apr 29, 15, 4:35 am
  #14  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Coronavirus, Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,960
Originally Posted by Soph View Post
Hello, I hope I can borrow this thread.

Is a 45min connection at FRA doable?
I'm concidering a LH99 arriving at 10.05 from MUC and depart onwards to JFK on LH400 at 10.50

Seems crazy to me, but it comes up when searching for tickets. All LH flights.
Have you checked the FRA connection thread linked in the previous post?

Lufthansa does sell this connection on their website so it must be legal but it does not guarantee you will make the connection. There should be no need to clear security in FRA but you will have to go through passport control and possibly a random security check for passengers on US-bound flights.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Apr 30, 15, 2:26 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 230
I wouldn't count on them to check your bags through and even less printing an onward boarding pass if it's on two tickets. I would go the safe option and book a 3-4 hours stopover. You will be glad in case of delays, and if you need to go landside and recheck it can take up a lot of time, especially if you fly US as they're in another terminal than LH.

The Minimum connecting time shown by the user above is never ever doable on a T1 to T2 nonschengen connection. The problem with ITA is that is shows the general MCT loaded by the airport in the GDS, but airlines are loading their own MCT, and they can considerably differ. And they would not apply to you if you travel on seperate tickets anyway.

If you have too much time, better spend some time in one of the numerous cafes and restaurants, T2 has very nice views to the airfiefd too. You will not get bored in FRA.
Reifel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: