Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Finnair | Finnair Plus
Reload this Page >

6 Finnair longhauls in a week - reflections

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22, 2015, 1:15 pm
Moderator, Finnair
Original Poster

Programs: Eurobonus Diamond, QR Gold, AY+ Platinum, A3*G, Nordic Choice Lifetime Platinum, SJ Prio Black

So I just did 6 Finnair longhaul segments (+ 2 short hauls and 7 *A segments) pretty much back-to-back, and here are some reflections. All AY longhaul were business class on A330 (ie "new" J)

Video / IFE
(This is my first time using IFE extensively, so take it for what it is)
Screens are small and brightness and contrasts is not very good making it difficult to watch movies on a daytime flight.

Selection is so so and doesn't seem to be updated very often. I started to watch a movie, just to realize I watched it in february when I flew AY last time.

It is nice they offer a selection of movies from all destinations, but why isn't there a selection of subtitling? There are a lot of good Korean movies, but they are offered completely without subtitles. The audience of that is minuscule, especially on flights to all destinations but ICN.
Some of the material had Finnish subtitles hard coded into the movie, even if you selected subtitles=none, it still was Finnish.

On some flights each movie was preluded by un-skippable commercials. Very annoying, especially since one of the two slots were not working, muted sound and black screen for 30 sec.

Elite recognition