Emirates to US?

Old Mar 17, 02, 10:44 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 1,307
Emirates to US?

Does anyone know if Emirates has any firm plans to starting service to the US anytime soon?
satish_ny is offline  
Old Mar 19, 02, 6:57 pm
  #2  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 191
Yes --- July 2003 first from JFK and later on other cities (Chicago) and Toronto.
jefro is offline  
Old Mar 19, 02, 11:06 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dubai
Programs: Emirates Gold, Etihad Gold, Flying Blue Silver
Posts: 184
Phase one starts next summer (2003). The first three cities are Chicago, JFK and Toronto. The ircraft used will be the A340-500.

Phase two includes SFO/LAX/IAH and will probably be sometime after 2003.
Marco is offline  
Old Jun 17, 04, 11:04 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by satish_ny
Does anyone know if Emirates has any firm plans to starting service to the US anytime soon?
yes well, they started service to JFK already and there are rumors that EK is going to start service to the US west coast via NZ or OZ but who knows..EK has been discussing setting up a hub in the S.Pacific for a while now
B6foreverEK is offline  
Old Jun 17, 04, 11:42 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: ADL, SEA
Programs: Hilton Diamond, IHG Platinum, Choice Diamond, Alaska 75K
Posts: 4,559
Originally Posted by B6foreverEK
yes well, they started service to JFK already and there are rumors that EK is going to start service to the US west coast via NZ or OZ but who knows..EK has been discussing setting up a hub in the S.Pacific for a while now
Now that is one long detour. I can't imagine flying to Dubai via Australia from LAX.

Any idea when the YYZ service will start?
davistev is offline  
Old Jun 28, 04, 10:59 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Emirates now has a service on its A340-500s. Direct flight from Dubai, to NYC. That's a 16 hour flight.
polyglot is offline  
Old Aug 2, 04, 4:51 pm
  #7  
Permanently Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,129
I'm excited about the possibility of direct ord-dxb. It would be worth flying and I'm sure it would be cheaper than routing through London.
MrFurious is offline  
Old Aug 3, 04, 8:49 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Programs: EK Gold, BA Silver, IHC Plat, HERTZ gold, GF Gold, SAS Silver
Posts: 742
DXB-EWR .. Long!

As a smoker and unless you have business right ourside of Newark, Don;t do it!

I go DXB-USA maybe 6 - 10 times per year, and was a fond favorite of EK to LGW then using AA to DFW or RDU......... I wil revert back to that in future, although now EK have a night flight DXB-LHR I will do that, with good conections to JFK/BOS/ORD/SFO/LAX even better.

As a smoker, the none stop 16 hours in a nightmare, particually when you then have to transfer on EWR, although the immigration queues were shorter.

Why do USA Airports not invest in a Fast Lane, like LHR or DXB for it's premium passengers?

Flew the new 340 from DXB in F class, whilst it was fine, it just went on and on and on... Needed a fag! Shall have one in London next time. Although, if you manage to book an F class ticket on line (which you STILL cannot do if you are going on from any destination) then your miles soon rock up!...

Still say EK/AA is best to transit in Europe....

Athough, I did AA (operated by LX) through ZHR the other month and my bags were pulled off for extra security screening (I have come from Afghanistan via Dubai) and of went my flight, to be given minimum connection in JFK to go to SFO and arrived 4 hours later than the flight through DFW that I was initially booked on. Surely Airlines know where bags have come from in advance and do not wait for it's passengers to tell them at the gate!
Down_the_back is offline  
Old Aug 5, 04, 2:06 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 596
Originally Posted by Down_the_back
Why do USA Airports not invest in a Fast Lane, like LHR or DXB for it's premium passengers?
I posed the same question a while ago. The airports are government controlled and it is simply not allowed. Bummer!
sic incognito is offline  
Old Aug 5, 04, 7:36 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Programs: EK Gold, BA Silver, IHC Plat, HERTZ gold, GF Gold, SAS Silver
Posts: 742
Originally Posted by sic incognito
I posed the same question a while ago. The airports are government controlled and it is simply not allowed. Bummer!
Maybe they could then invest in a separate queue for passengers in transit, on production of an onward boarding pass. It really can be make or break to getting the onwards connection... JFK have security who you can usually appraoch and infomr them of your connection if you are running late, they usually allow you to the front of the queue.

I have 4 passports stapeled together as my residence visa for the UAE is in the first along with my Australian residence (I have UK Passport) and with frequent trips around the middle east and the USA i am always "suspect" imaginable, so tend to take longer at the desk than most too...

Quote from the last immigration officer at JFK when I infomred him my next flight left in 40 minutes, he took one look at teh passports and infomred me "you will not be on that flight!".. However I did manage it... But only as I was travevling in F and had a very small security line to get through and preimium labeled bags so for once - they were waiting for me as I got to the belt....
Down_the_back is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: