OnAir not really working

Old May 25, 17, 3:11 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hoosier in Dubai
Programs: EK Gold, Bonvoy Silver
Posts: 545
OnAir not really working

I've had 3 flights in the last week, BKK-DXB, DXB-LHR RTN, on all of these flights the speed of OnAir was so slow that is was unusable. Anyone else having this issue this week? Sunspots? It's never been Speedy Gonzales but I've been able to at least get my emails.
JTPictureman is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 3:46 am
  #2  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,775
Originally Posted by JTPictureman View Post
I've had 3 flights in the last week, BKK-DXB, DXB-LHR RTN, on all of these flights the speed of OnAir was so slow that is was unusable. Anyone else having this issue this week? Sunspots? It's never been Speedy Gonzales but I've been able to at least get my emails.
I reckon it's been like that on > 50% my EK flights. Not that I fly EK that much these days.
DYKWIA is online now  
Old May 25, 17, 4:37 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DXB
Programs: EK, AA, DL, UA, SPG, HGP, Amex
Posts: 1,118
I recall seeing somewhere that inflight internet is not available when flying over India, so that could answer why it's not available for a good chunk of BKK-DXB.

As for DXB-LHR, I suspect that there's a very number of people connecting, thereby crippling an already slow connection.
extramileage is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 8:50 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cape Town
Programs: BA Exec Gold , Emirates Skywards Plat , SAA Voyager Silver.
Posts: 1,577
Same issue as well , also noted that on recent DXB-LHR/LGW flights the wifi has been uber slow !
Flame3601 is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 10:19 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Programs: Kris world, Skywards, QF, CX
Posts: 34
Well im writing this reply from my flight to PER, I spoke to the Purser and she said, and I quote "it works much more consistently on the 777". It just so happens im on a 777 at the moment.

Hope this helps.
Monarch man is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 12:50 pm
  #6  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,775
Originally Posted by Monarch man View Post
Well im writing this reply from my flight to PER, I spoke to the Purser and she said, and I quote "it works much more consistently on the 777". It just so happens im on a 777 at the moment.

Hope this helps.
I think the 777 has a more up to date system. Unfortunately, not that many 777s have wi-fi at the moment.
DYKWIA is online now  
Old May 25, 17, 1:02 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 7,791
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
I think the 777 has a more up to date system. Unfortunately, not that many 777s have wi-fi at the moment.
?? Most of them do at this point
skywardhunter is offline  
Old May 26, 17, 2:45 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hoosier in Dubai
Programs: EK Gold, Bonvoy Silver
Posts: 545
Originally Posted by extramileage View Post
I recall seeing somewhere that inflight internet is not available when flying over India, so that could answer why it's not available for a good chunk of BKK-DXB.

As for DXB-LHR, I suspect that there's a very number of people connecting, thereby crippling an already slow connection.
Yes, it doesn't work over India but it didn't work the other parts of the flight either.
JTPictureman is offline  
Old May 26, 17, 3:04 am
  #9  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,775
Originally Posted by skywardhunter View Post
?? Most of them do at this point
Really? That's good to know.

I thought only the fairly new ones had Wifi.
DYKWIA is online now  
Old May 26, 17, 3:19 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 7,791
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
Really? That's good to know.

I thought only the fairly new ones had Wifi.
It's mostly the older ones that were retrofitted first afaik
skywardhunter is offline  
Old May 26, 17, 5:52 am
  #11  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,775
Originally Posted by skywardhunter View Post
It's mostly the older ones that were retrofitted first afaik
I need to fly more often so I stop giving crap advice
DYKWIA is online now  
Old May 27, 17, 6:35 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: MM, EK, AB/EY, HH, SPG, etc.
Posts: 355
My experience as EK Plat: rarely have decent speeds, > 50% practically unusable for most of the flight. So have resigned to using it for simple e-mails... ...seems to be a known issue, as whenever I file for a refund, it is immediately issued without any query. Can't understand why they can't get it right, as on EY I rarely have the same kind of problems (although my last two flights were patchy as well there).
Wtravel is offline  
Old May 27, 17, 11:11 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MAN DXB ✈️
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 6,551
Originally Posted by Wtravel View Post
My experience as EK Plat: rarely have decent speeds, > 50% practically unusable for most of the flight. So have resigned to using it for simple e-mails... ...seems to be a known issue, as whenever I file for a refund, it is immediately issued without any query. Can't understand why they can't get it right, as on EY I rarely have the same kind of problems (although my last two flights were patchy as well there).
You ask for a refund for $1 that goes to charity?
m3red is offline  
Old May 28, 17, 3:32 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by JTPictureman View Post
I've had 3 flights in the last week, BKK-DXB, DXB-LHR RTN, on all of these flights the speed of OnAir was so slow that is was unusable. Anyone else having this issue this week? Sunspots? It's never been Speedy Gonzales but I've been able to at least get my emails.
777s work on a different satellite band which gives it more bandwidth
BAorbmi? is offline  
Old May 28, 17, 4:17 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hoosier in Dubai
Programs: EK Gold, Bonvoy Silver
Posts: 545
Originally Posted by BAorbmi? View Post
777s work on a different satellite band which gives it more bandwidth
Well, my next flight is on a 777 so we will see, I'm beginning to think they didn't pay their bill or something.
JTPictureman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: