KitchenAid Mixer

Old Dec 19, 15, 3:38 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
KitchenAid Mixer

I got a KitchenAid Pro 6000 mixer off woot.com a few days ago. It arrived today, and the beater hits the bowl. I tried to turn the adjustment screw clockwise to lower the bowl, as shown in the manual, but it won't turn. It will turn counterclockwise, however. Did I get a defective mixer?
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Dec 19, 15, 5:16 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,101
Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
I got a KitchenAid Pro 6000 mixer off woot.com a few days ago. It arrived today, and the beater hits the bowl. I tried to turn the adjustment screw clockwise to lower the bowl, as shown in the manual, but it won't turn. It will turn counterclockwise, however. Did I get a defective mixer?
Do you mean it hits the bowl and stops, or that it brushes the sides as it revolves? Or that it extends too far down?

Mine (17+ years in use) has always brushed the sides and bottom of the bowl.
CDTraveler is offline  
Old Dec 19, 15, 6:14 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 15,855
On my model I had a similar issue until I realized i hadn't clicked the back of the bowl into place.
milepig is offline  
Old Dec 20, 15, 12:02 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
I did click the back of the bowl in place. I mean that the beater hits the bottom of the bowl as I'm raising the bowl into position.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Dec 20, 15, 1:24 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SNA
Posts: 16,740
There's also a screw to raise and lower the beater.
VickiSoCal is offline  
Old Dec 20, 15, 1:36 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
Originally Posted by VickiSoCal View Post
There's also a screw to raise and lower the beater.
Yes, it won't turn.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Dec 20, 15, 2:37 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
Yes, it won't turn.
I would send it back, sounds defective to me.
JeffBrackin is offline  
Old Dec 21, 15, 7:43 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,101
Originally Posted by JeffBrackin View Post
I would send it back, sounds defective to me.
+1

It should brush the bottom of the bowl, not crash into it.
CDTraveler is offline  
Old Dec 21, 15, 8:18 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New England
Programs: AA Platinum Pro
Posts: 4,224
I have the opposite problem. Mine wont get close enough tot he edges/bottom of the bowl.

I had purchased one of those blades with the little rubber edges which seems to work much better, though.
Cloudship is offline  
Old Dec 21, 15, 9:25 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
Originally Posted by Cloudship View Post
I have the opposite problem. Mine wont get close enough tot he edges/bottom of the bowl.

I had purchased one of those blades with the little rubber edges which seems to work much better, though.
Did you adjust the screw, though?

Update to my saga: KitchenAid is sending a new mixer with a prepaid shipping label for the old one. It's backordered in the color I like, so it'll arrive in 2-6 weeks.

Last edited by gfunkdave; Dec 21, 15 at 9:51 am
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Dec 21, 15, 11:41 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New England
Programs: AA Platinum Pro
Posts: 4,224
Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
Did you adjust the screw, though?

Update to my saga: KitchenAid is sending a new mixer with a prepaid shipping label for the old one. It's backordered in the color I like, so it'll arrive in 2-6 weeks.
Yes. It was turned all the way already. I suspect this is a Quality Control issue.
Cloudship is offline  
Old Dec 21, 15, 9:43 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
Originally Posted by Cloudship View Post
Yes. It was turned all the way already. I suspect this is a Quality Control issue.
Ah yes. That was exactly my problem, and KitchenAid is sending a new mixer.
gfunkdave is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread