Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Delta changed my connecting flight, now it departs while 2nd flight is in air???

Delta changed my connecting flight, now it departs while 2nd flight is in air???

Old May 14, 2020, 2:14 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Delta changed my connecting flight, now it departs while 2nd flight is in air???

Delta changed my international flight I had a morning flight set to ord, and then an a 12 pm flight to icn. Now they changed my morning connecting flight to 3:40 pm and it is purely impossible to make my connecting flight since it will have taken off 4 hours prior to my landing and will be above the ocean by the time I can get off the first plane.
what are my rights and options here?
Mackenzie Lee is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 2:37 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: DUS
Programs: DL PM (was DL DM for 3yrs), HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,067
Call in or contact them via Twitter? Are there any earlier flights from your origin to ORD?
EZEDoesIt is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 2:56 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by EZEDoesIt
Call in or contact them via Twitter? Are there any earlier flights from your origin to ORD?
There are not. All the morning flights dont exist anymore and other routes are 2x the price. Would delta cover the change in fare?
Mackenzie Lee is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 3:13 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PHX
Programs: Delta 2M DM, Southwest A List and CP
Posts: 1,070
If all flights are on DL or DL tickets, then they will typically try to accommodate you on DL in whatever way works or is possible. If there is an overnight somewhere, then you will be on your own for hotel costs.
PHXflier is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 5:30 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 22,697
We really need more info about which flights you were booked on to provide any advice. Sounds like you are on the Korean Air ORD-ICN flight which operates 5 times weekly in June. All the airlines have made very significant cuts to their June schedules over the last two weekends due to the large dropoff in the travel demand. They did the same thing to their May schedules back in April. If there are no longer any morning flights from your origin to ORD, Delta could put you on a flight to ORD the day before your flight to ICN. There are also daily flights to ICN from DTW on Delta which depart at 2PM. Delta will switch flights for you at no charge.
xliioper is online now  
Old May 14, 2020, 10:19 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SAN
Programs: DL DM / 2MM - Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 1,502
I had a similar issue and they simply gave me my money back. Thats what I asked for. If you actually want to TAKE the flight, I am sure they will help. They've been great for me.
lucycan is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 10:20 am
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada, USA, Europe
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 31,452
I have to ask, did you buy this as one single through ticket or two separate tickets?
LondonElite is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 10:27 am
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 100,136
Before calling DL, you should spend some time investigating alternative DL or KE flights and routings/schedules, assuming that you don't want to spend a night near ORD at your own expense.

BTW, DL has suspended/cancelled all service to MDW (which is now mostly a WN airport and WN doesn't interline with anyone), so changing airports in Chicago isn't an option.

Also, just a reminder that South Korea has different entry requirements than in the past.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old May 14, 2020, 11:26 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
Something similar just happened to me. I called Delta and they reassigned me on an itinerary that works. Zero problems, and the representative was great.
ChrisLovesUgly is offline  
Old May 18, 2020, 1:10 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PHX, SEA
Programs: DL Silver, Avis President's Club, Hertz President's Circle, Global Entry (Former AA Plt/Gold)
Posts: 4,410
Edit: Just realized this was a few days ago and MSPEconomist gave similar advice.

Last edited by Gig103; May 18, 2020 at 1:18 pm
Gig103 is offline  
Old May 18, 2020, 6:24 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Programs: Delta Skymiles
Posts: 1,981
This has happened to me even before the problems of COVID-19. I use my GoGo internet and Tweet the team at Delta. Usually this works. Also, you can use the modify my flight app. Delta is very skilled at that.
cfabar1 is offline  
Old May 18, 2020, 6:50 pm
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,265
OP still has not posted the route, flight numbers or times. Presume it's either dealt with or there was some different issue.
Often1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.