Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Multiple stops on DL itinery ex-US to Europe

Multiple stops on DL itinery ex-US to Europe

Old Feb 9, 19, 1:42 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: PNS
Programs: DL PM / 1MM "Enhancee" (Frequent Flyer) Since 1990
Posts: 1,145
Multiple stops on DL itinery ex-US to Europe

I've found a fairly good fare from Florida to LHR/London in April. The reason it is cheaper is likely because of the stopovers, and routing. Delta quite often drops fares on these unpopular routes. My route would be PNS-ATL-BOS-LHR .. the ATL segment is expected (asI have to change planes to get to Europe.

However now my flight stops in BOS For this stop do I have to disembark w/my carry ons, and wait for an annoucement to re-board? Or even more likely, the BOS-LHR fight is sitting at another gate/concourse.
heckler is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 1:49 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Platinum & Ambassador
Posts: 11,252
it is more likely, even of the flight numbers were the same, that your flight to LHR will be on a totally different plane and gate.
UKtravelbear is online now  
Old Feb 9, 19, 1:56 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: DL DM, UA Gold, Alaska MVP, Bonvoy (lol) Ambassador
Posts: 2,393
Originally Posted by heckler View Post
I've found a fairly good fare from Florida to LHR/London in April. The reason it is cheaper is likely because of the stopovers, and routing. Delta quite often drops fares on these unpopular routes. My route would be PNS-ATL-BOS-LHR .. the ATL segment is expected (asI have to change planes to get to Europe.

However now my flight stops in BOS For this stop do I have to disembark w/my carry ons, and wait for an annoucement to re-board? Or even more likely, the BOS-LHR fight is sitting at another gate/concourse.
As UKtravelbear mentioned, it is likely you will still switch planes even if the flight number is the same. This is called a change of gauge and is (in my opinion) deceptive marketing.

Even if the plane was the same (unlikely, but perhaps they have a 767 or A330 in rotation between ATL-BOS that ends up flying BOS-LHR), they will indeed make you get off the plane. I don't think Delta does any true "direct but not non-stop" flights (meaning you can stay on the plane) anymore.
ethernal is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 2:02 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MSP
Programs: Delta PM, 1MM
Posts: 3,665
Check whether your flight is operated by Delta or is a Delta codeshare flight number operated by Virgin Atlantic. If the latter, your ATL-BOS flight will land at Terminal A while your BOS-LHR flight could depart from Terminal E, the international terminal, which is a 10-15 minute walk outside security from A.
MSPeconomist likes this.

Last edited by CarmenOM; Feb 9, 19 at 3:06 pm
CarmenOM is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 2:27 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Programs: DL PM, MR Titanium/LTG, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 7,383
Also keep an eye for schedule changes between now and departure that would allow you to change to a more streamlined itinerary at no charge
Duke787 is offline  
Old Feb 10, 19, 2:07 pm
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 86,518
Fort international, it might be a security rule that everyone must get off the aircraft and take all belongings so that the aircraft can be searched for anything left behind by a person who is not continuing on the next segment.
MSPeconomist is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: