KLM GUC Questions

Old Jan 6, 17, 11:38 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: DL DM; Hilton Diamond; Marriott LT Titanium; Long live SPG... f MAR
Posts: 196
KLM GUC Questions

I've read through a lot of recent threads here on using GUCs on KLM but can't find the answers to a few questions:

1) KLM flight shows Z0, so I know it won't clear today. Will the GUC change to an airport upgrade list? The flight is AMS-SFO.

2) Do I need to book the flight under a DL or KLM flight number? I'm looking to piece together a 4 leg itinerary, SFO-JFK-DUB-AMS-SFO. Legs 1 & 2 are DL numbers and DL operated. Leg 3 is KLM numbered and KLM operated. Leg 4 is KLM operated, but I can currently book as either KLM or DL flight numbers. I read that if there is KLM Z showing on EF, then DL will reissue as a KLM number, so I thought perhaps I'd do that, but then wondered if it would force a non-006 ticket stock. Wanted to be sure before I hit the OK button and could not find a distinction in the rules.

Thanks for any insight!
hoyt is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 12:14 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: LAX/RDU
Posts: 87
1) KLM doesn't have an airport upgrade list (or if they do, you can't get on it with a GUC.) If your GUC doesn't clear in advance, you have to go to the lounge and ask one of the agents to upgrade you with your GUC. This can be easy or hard, depending on the agent. Keep in mind that they also offer open seats for cash/miles upgrades starting at T-30 or T-24, so it can be a race. Bring the GUC number and redemption code with you, because the KLM agent can't look it up like a DL agent can.

2) Not sure since I have only ever done it with DL flight numbers, but I believe the eligible fare codes may be more restrictive when trying to upgrade on a KLM ticket. Someone else will surely know better than me, though.
laxrdu is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 12:28 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Programs: DL MM & DM; Marriott, AmEx, Chase, Cap1
Posts: 799
I used a GUC AMS-ATL. I saw Z>0 and called the agent. At first she told me there were no UGs available. I'll skip the rest and just get to the point: She had to reissue the ticket on KLM ticket stock in order to process the GUC.

Getting the UG at the airport is a different animal, so I'll defer to others about that.
safigan is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 12:30 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SMF/HPN
Programs: DL DM, AS MVP, Hilton Gold, IHG Plat, SPG Gold, TSA PreCheck
Posts: 464
When I used a GUC on a KLM operated, DL ticketed and co-shared flight, the CSR had to re-issue the tickets with KL flight numbers. KL had upgrade space and I cleared.

I've never tried at the airport.
berliner5000 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 12:41 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: DL DM; Hilton Diamond; Marriott LT Titanium; Long live SPG... f MAR
Posts: 196
Thanks! I went ahead and purchased it as a DL flight #, and will setup an EF alert on the Z class with the KLM flight number. I have about 2 months, so hopefully something changes there so I don't have to do a day-of-dance.

If all else fails, I should have 2 hours in AMS to go to the lounge and beg.
hoyt is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 1:11 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE USA
Programs: DL PM/MM (lost DM 2020) , IHG Plat, MR Titanium, HH Gold, EK Frequent Kettle, UA Tolerater, AA Hater
Posts: 1,923
BTW there are also some weird shenanigans involving class of service - they have 2 different buckets of upgrades and for one of the them you need a higher class of service. The last time I tried it was almost as cheap to buy J.
dilbertsdaddy is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 2:10 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, Titanium_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 6,301
I used GUCs to ug ORD-AMS-CPT and back. I bought the ticket over the phone with DL but we had to switch to KLM flight numbers to apply the upgrades that cleared at booking.
Xeno is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 5:14 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ATL, BNA
Programs: DL PM (was DL DM for 3yrs), HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,002
Originally Posted by dilbertsdaddy View Post
BTW there are also some weird shenanigans involving class of service - they have 2 different buckets of upgrades and for one of the them you need a higher class of service. The last time I tried it was almost as cheap to buy J.
I ran into the same problem. Two agents told me that for the Z upgrade you have to buy Y.
EZEDoesIt is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 8:03 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: XXX and sometimes YYY
Programs: DL DM, Hilton DM
Posts: 440
I had the same thing happen. I am flying from MSN>DTW>AMS>DOH.
I could only apply the GUC when they switched from a delta codeshare to a KLM flight number to get the upgrade. Does anyone know if my bags will go all the way to DOH or will I have to pick them up in AMS and put them through the security screener in AMS?
securesmaskfirst is offline  
Old Jan 6, 17, 8:21 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,632
Originally Posted by securesmaskfirst View Post
I had the same thing happen. I am flying from MSN>DTW>AMS>DOH.
I could only apply the GUC when they switched from a delta codeshare to a KLM flight number to get the upgrade. Does anyone know if my bags will go all the way to DOH or will I have to pick them up in AMS and put them through the security screener in AMS?
Of course bags go through. The flight number has no bearing. As long as it's one ticket DL will even interline with non partners.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Jan 8, 17, 6:59 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: DL DM; Hilton Diamond; Marriott LT Titanium; Long live SPG... f MAR
Posts: 196
Originally Posted by dilbertsdaddy View Post
BTW there are also some weird shenanigans involving class of service - they have 2 different buckets of upgrades and for one of the them you need a higher class of service. The last time I tried it was almost as cheap to buy J.
Quick update, just got an EF notification that the flight was Z1, called in and spoke with the most fantastic agent I've ever encountered on the phone. She didn't say anything about it, but by looking at my record now, it's listing a KLM flight number.

She did check my purchased fare class, L, and said that was fine. I can't imagine being much cheaper than an L and being able to upgrade to J.
hoyt is offline  
Old Jan 8, 17, 7:28 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ATL, BNA
Programs: DL PM (was DL DM for 3yrs), HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,002
Originally Posted by hoyt View Post
I can't imagine being much cheaper than an L and being able to upgrade to J.
GUCs are allowed on anything except E.
EZEDoesIt is offline  
Old Jan 8, 17, 8:41 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: DL DM; Hilton Diamond; Marriott LT Titanium; Long live SPG... f MAR
Posts: 196
Originally Posted by EZEDoesIt View Post
GUCs are allowed on anything except E.
That was my understanding as well, but since you and dilbertsdaddy mentioned needing to buy a higher fare class, I wanted to provide clarity from my recent experience.
hoyt is offline  
Old Jan 9, 17, 12:23 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Programs: Show me the points!
Posts: 1,149
Originally Posted by hoyt View Post
Quick update, just got an EF notification that the flight was Z1, called in and spoke with the most fantastic agent I've ever encountered on the phone. She didn't say anything about it, but by looking at my record now, it's listing a KLM flight number.

She did check my purchased fare class, L, and said that was fine. I can't imagine being much cheaper than an L and being able to upgrade to J.
I wish this worked for DL operated flights
nichojo is offline  
Old Nov 6, 17, 1:14 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta
Programs: DL SkyMiles Diamond, IHG Spire Ambassador
Posts: 86
Just wanted to share my experience using GUCs on KLM flights twice in the past year. Both flights I booked as Delta marketed. Earlier this year I called about a month prior to departure after seeing Z5 on expertflyer. No problem at all. Took about 15 minutes to reissue, good to go.

Last week I called for a flight two months from now seeing Z9 on expertflyer. Took 3 calls, the first two the agents were confused about the rules (Delta marketed means any class is upgradable versus YBM only on KLM, as well as O versus Z availability being needed). While they didn’t disagree outright with me when I politely quoted the correct rules, they wouldn’t budge. So I politely HUACA. Third call went through no problem very similar to the first GUC early in the year.
TetonSig is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: