Historically speaking...

Old Feb 5, 18, 5:51 pm
Original Poster

Historically speaking...

So I'm relatively new to the earning through the hobby of credit card sign-ups. It's been my main source of points in the 4 years I've been doing this. With the advetn of the 5/24 from Chase and the 2/3/4 from BoA - is this par for the course - the cat and mouse game of issuers trying to prevent people like us from taking advantage of their offers; or is this a sign that issuers will forever be stingier about how many people 'take advantage' of their products (total nunmber of cards, or churning) I'm just looking for some historical perspective on this since I'm a newbie.
Old Feb 5, 18, 9:03 pm

Programs: Tegridy Elite
Things have definitely gotten tougher, in general. Whether it will continue that way is anyone's guess. I'd say it depends on a lot of factors such as the economy and condition of the airline and hotel/travel industry as well as how the banks are evaluating the performance of these affiliate cards. All of those parties will do what they think is in the best interest of their stakeholders - as we look after our best interests as much as possible.

Also there is now a spotlight on the world of us FT types via mainstream news articles, certain points & miles bloggers, and others - that wasn't the case in years past and probably has been a contributing factor in encouraging banks to look harder at things and crack down.

It takes a bit more planning in applications and usage of cards than in the past. A lot can change in the world at large over 5 or 10 years so who knows what the future will hold.
isle-hawg likes this.
Old Feb 5, 18, 10:49 pm

Programs: AA Gold. UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)