Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Credit Card Programs
Reload this Page >

Moving to France temporarily - what card to get?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 11, 2013, 1:12 am
Original Poster

So I'm still a noob and I've only made one redemption so far using my UR points. But I'm going to be moving to France in mid September for a temporary job for about half a year, and during that time, I want to get some European travels since I'm so much closer (thinking Spain, Switzerland, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Italy, England... pretty much anywhere I can get to). The question is, what credit card should I get next that can get me some additional bonus miles/points to take full advantage of my move to France?

Here's my current line up of points and miles:
Chase UR: 165K
Delta SkyMiles: 65K (silver medallion)
SPG: 30K
AA: 5K
UA: 7K
Hilton HHonors: 7K + 2 free weekend vouchers
Hyatt: 2K + 2 free nights

I current own the following cards:
Chase CSP VS
Chase Freedom MC
Chase Hyatt Visa
Amex SPG
Amex Platinum Delta
Citi Hilton HHonors Reserve

I really like Delta since I fly from LAX-JFK from time to time and I've never had issues with them, but within France, it leads to high fuel surcharges on skyteam partners like Air France. I was thinking of maybe an Amex MR card, but there doesn't seem to be any spectacular promos at this time. I saw there's a Lufthansa 50K offer, but I'm not too familiar with their program. Is it worth it? Would getting an Amex Gold Delta card to just get some miles be a waste?

I will be able to spend $3K easily on the new card in the next three months, but once I move to France, I might not be able to spend as much money. Credit scores are mid to upper 700s. What card would the experts at FlyerTalk recommend for me?
Old Jun 11, 2013, 10:31 am

Programs: DL Platinum, 1 MM