Community
Wiki Posts
Search

URGENT: Chase Reconsideration Line Help

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9, 2012, 12:23 pm
Original Poster

URGENT: Chase Reconsideration Line Help

In early January I applied for and received the Chase Ink Bold and Chase Sapphire Preferred. Shortly thereafter I received a targeted email that I have United miles about to expire (on March 31) and that I can save them by applying for the MileagePlus Explorer card and earn up to 60K miles. Since I am new at this game, I did not know that I should not apply for 3 Chase cards in such a short amount of time, so I went ahead and applied for the MileagePlus Explorer card. I was denied.

When I called the reconsideration line, I was told that there needs to be more time between applications and that I could call back until 30 days from Feb 18 and could call back using the same reference number. The CSR even gave me her direct number.

So today I called. A different CSR answered and told me the reconsideration window on my application closed on March 1 and I’d have to reapply for the card. I explained what the previous CSR told me, but she would not budge. I asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor told me the same thing. I asked to speak to his supervisor. He said he could not immediately transfer me, but took my phone number and said someone would call me back within 24 hours.

So . . . when they call me back what do I say? As I told the previous two CRS’s I was simply following the instructions of the original CSR I spoke with. Should I simply call the reconsideration line and see what happens when I get a different CSR? What happens if I reapply for the same card?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old Mar 9, 2012, 12:28 pm

I would explain that you were targeted since you have UAL miles expiring and that you understand you've applied for 3 Chase cards in a short amount of time so you're willing to "give up" either the Saphhire or Bold to capture the UAL Explorer Card.