Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Transiting YVR from US to Canada

Transiting YVR from US to Canada

Old Feb 14, 19, 7:51 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,667
Transiting YVR from US to Canada

SEA-YVR-YYZ. Timing is very tight with WX.

Never done it before. Looking at the YVR guide, it seems we have to exit into the insecure area and then go back through C gate security.

Is this right? Seems at YYZ you can do it without exiting.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Feb 14, 19, 7:54 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan & Manufactured Spending
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 48,722
As this is more a YVR topic rather than an Air Canada or Aeroplan specific topic the thread has been relocated to the Canada forum for further discussion.

tcook052
Air Canada forum moderator
tcook052 is offline  
Old Feb 14, 19, 7:59 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,342
Pretty much. Not very convenient.
YVR Cockroach is online now  
Old Feb 20, 19, 4:30 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YYZ/YVR
Programs: ACMM E75K; *G
Posts: 1,515
Originally Posted by InTheAirGuy View Post
SEA-YVR-YYZ. Timing is very tight with WX.

Never done it before. Looking at the YVR guide, it seems we have to exit into the insecure area and then go back through C gate security.

Is this right? Seems at YYZ you can do it without exiting.
Last time I connected in YVR from US, I do recall having to go through security after clearing customs. I can't compare to YYZ as I've never connected in YYZ from USA.
j_the_p is offline  
Old Feb 21, 19, 9:52 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime PE, AC Altitude SE100K-1MM
Posts: 273
Originally Posted by InTheAirGuy View Post
SEA-YVR-YYZ. Timing is very tight with WX.

Never done it before. Looking at the YVR guide, it seems we have to exit into the insecure area and then go back through C gate security.

Is this right? Seems at YYZ you can do it without exiting.
I've only done the connection through YVR from US on AC, not another airline. You go through Customs but do not leave and go through Security again. If you tell the people in the Customs Hall that you have a connection, they give you a card, and direct you to another area to see a Customs / Border agent. From there you board a bus that takes you to the C-gates (located across from the MLL).

There are some other threads here that cover this topic and you can reviews' experiences.
SteadyAT is offline  
Old Feb 24, 19, 4:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Programs: AC Aeroplan, AS MileagePlan, AirMiles Gold
Posts: 37
I did this dance mentioned above (get a card, get through customs, get on a bus) with a Nexus card the entire process end-to-end was about 35min.
sself is offline  
Old May 13, 19, 5:20 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,342
Procedure seems to have changed substantially. WS=>WS coonection last week was:

Go to domestic connection clearance after you use the kiosks (need to show onward boarding passes) on the right side of arrivals hall as soon as you get off the down escalator, line up to pass CBSA, boarding pass check/scan again, board shuttle bus that takes you to domestic airside (one of the gates at the base of the old domestic (C(?) pier). No security recheck.

Think this works only if you have no checked bags or flight is approved for no checked bag customs clearance.
YVR Cockroach is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread