Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

YUL transfer question

YUL transfer question

Old Dec 20, 18, 10:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: AC 100k, Star Alliance Gold, Fairmont Platinum, Westjet Gold, Starwood Gold, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 118
YUL transfer question

I am going to be flying YYZ-YUL-VRA next week and was wondering if I can transfer in Montreal from the domestic gates to the international gates without re-clearing security? Looking at the same flights today, it looks like the YYZ-YUL flight arrived at gate 48 and departed to VRA out of gate A61.
luckylager is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:37 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,916
Yes .
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:43 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,425
Yes. It is one long terminal.
N1120A is offline  
Old Dec 21, 18, 12:01 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: AC 100k, Star Alliance Gold, Fairmont Platinum, Westjet Gold, Starwood Gold, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 118
Thanks!!
luckylager is offline  
Old Dec 21, 18, 4:33 am
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan & Manufactured Spending
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 48,723
As this is a YUL airport question rather than an Air Canada specific question it's been relocated to the Canada forum for further discussion.

tcook052
Air Canada forum moderator
tcook052 is offline  
Old Dec 26, 18, 8:46 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA EXP LT Plat >3 Million miles,HH Lifetime Diamond
Posts: 2,427
Another question..ord to yul to doh on AA and then QR. What will the transit process be at you? Thanks
worldiswide is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 11:32 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: YUL
Programs: Aeroplan, Crown & Anchor Platinum
Posts: 67
Coming from ORD you will go through Canadian customs and then normally go back through security in the domestic/international area.
bigjon94 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 5:39 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: YOW
Programs: AC*SE100K BA-S HH-D IHG-Plat Accor-G MR-S
Posts: 3,480
https://www.admtl.com/en/guide/conne...hts#Etats-Unis
Seat13F_AC_CRJ is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 12:52 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 394
When flying EU-YUL-USA, is Global Entry available?
downinit is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 6:56 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,342
Originally Posted by downinit View Post
When flying EU-YUL-USA, is Global Entry available?
GE doesn't work entering Canada. What it may do for you is speed your way through U.S preclearance and security, if you bring your GE card.
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Old Feb 10, 19, 7:44 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,047
Originally Posted by YVR Cockroach View Post
GE doesn't work entering Canada. What it may do for you is speed your way through U.S preclearance and security, if you bring your GE card.
Though you may need your GE card to access expedited security screening at YUL, you don't need (or even can use) the card for US pre-clearance. Your GE status is accessed directly through your US passport.
JimInOhio is offline  
Old Feb 12, 19, 10:02 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 394
I am only connecting in YUL, so am I going directly from the plane to US preclearance or do I need to clear Canadian inspection first? Is there a separate US preclearance line for Global Entry? I am not talking about using the card, but the kiosk (and much shorter line associated with it). I know how GE works, I am just curious if it will help expedite my relatively short connection in YUL. I have no idea what US preclearance is or how it works, and the descriptions online say nothing about GE.

In my limited experience, the immigration/customs agents in Canada (landside and airside) tend to be by far the worst of any country I have been to (~40) in terms of asking a lot of unnecessary and detailed questions, so I would be quite happy if I can avoid that on a tight int'l to USA connection.

Last edited by downinit; Feb 12, 19 at 10:13 am
downinit is offline  
Old Feb 12, 19, 11:06 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,047
Originally Posted by downinit View Post
I am only connecting in YUL, so am I going directly from the plane to US preclearance or do I need to clear Canadian inspection first? Is there a separate US preclearance line for Global Entry? I am not talking about using the card, but the kiosk (and much shorter line associated with it). I know how GE works, I am just curious if it will help expedite my relatively short connection in YUL. I have no idea what US preclearance is or how it works, and the descriptions online say nothing about GE.

In my limited experience, the immigration/customs agents in Canada (landside and airside) tend to be by far the worst of any country I have been to (~40) in terms of asking a lot of unnecessary and detailed questions, so I would be quite happy if I can avoid that on a tight int'l to USA connection.
It's right on the Montreal Airports website linked above:

"If your flight originated outside Canada or the United States and you need to take a connecting flight to a U.S. destination, follow the signs "Connections". There are two possible options:
  • If your airline offers the option of automatically transferring your luggage and you have a boarding pass for your connecting flight, you will be asked to proceed via a connecting flights corridor, avoiding Canadian customs. You will, however, have to go through U.S. customs. Your checked luggage will be transferred automatically by the luggage-handling system. Note, however, that U.S. customs officers are authorized to recall your luggage, if necessary, for manual inspection. If the customs officers do not yet have the information on your luggage at hand, you will be asked to proceed to the waiting area. "
YUL has GE kiosks.
JimInOhio is offline  
Old Feb 12, 19, 12:49 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 394
Originally Posted by JimInOhio View Post
YUL has GE kiosks.
This was the answer I was looking for from the onset. Those last two replies just confused me, as I did read that on the YUL website beforehand.

Thank you
downinit is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread