Reclear Security at LAX

Old Apr 21, 16, 8:55 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London
Programs: BAEC bouncing from Blue to Gold to Blue VSFC Red CXGreen Club Accor Platinum Hilton Silver.
Posts: 855
Reclear Security at LAX

Mods please move if appropriate. We will be returning from LAS via LAX to LHR with AA do we have to reclear security at LAX I know our bags will be checked through but having done this route via JFK with AA to BA which means a terminal change and security.
Thanks in advance.
John
thejohn is offline  
Old Apr 21, 16, 8:57 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Betwixt SEA and LHR
Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, AS Gold MVP, IC RA, IHG Spire Elite, HH Diamond, Dennis The Menace Fan Club
Posts: 1,346
No, you don't need to reclear security at LAX in this scenario.

You also don't need to reclear security transferring from AA domestic to BA international any longer at LAX, as the connector corridor between T4 and TBIT is open now.
opalfruit is offline  
Old Apr 21, 16, 9:17 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Programs: I go wherever the content takes me.
Posts: 5,695
This is a cross-post. http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...urity-lax.html
paul4040 is online now  
Old Apr 21, 16, 9:20 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London
Programs: BAEC bouncing from Blue to Gold to Blue VSFC Red CXGreen Club Accor Platinum Hilton Silver.
Posts: 855
Thanks opalfruit your a star.
John
thejohn is offline  
Old Apr 21, 16, 9:22 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London
Programs: BAEC bouncing from Blue to Gold to Blue VSFC Red CXGreen Club Accor Platinum Hilton Silver.
Posts: 855
Originally Posted by paul4040 View Post
Yes sorry hedging my bets..... But I'm In Vegas
John
thejohn is offline  
Old Apr 21, 16, 9:30 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Krakow
Programs: BAEC Silver, Miles and More(FTL), IHG(Platinum), Accor, HHonors(Diamond), SPG, Hertz Five Star
Posts: 2,850
I did Vegas to LHR via LAX all on AA last October

I disembarked the LAS-LAX flight straight into T4 departures and went to the lounge

No security
scottishpoet is offline  
Old Apr 21, 16, 9:49 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, BA Amex Prem, Fairmont Premier
Posts: 2,072
Originally Posted by thejohn View Post
Mods please move if appropriate. We will be returning from LAS via LAX to LHR with AA do we have to reclear security at LAX I know our bags will be checked through but having done this route via JFK with AA to BA which means a terminal change and security.
Thanks in advance.
John
Also, assuming your profile is correct and you are BA Gold and have a bit of time, remember to avail yourself of the Qantas F lounge in TBIT.
crazy8534 is offline  
Old Apr 21, 16, 12:07 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Programs: BA Gold for Life
Posts: 872
The food and drink in the Qantas F lounge at LAX is very good but I found the ambience and seating a little bland.
Rubecula is offline  
Old Apr 23, 16, 10:17 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London
Programs: BAEC bouncing from Blue to Gold to Blue VSFC Red CXGreen Club Accor Platinum Hilton Silver.
Posts: 855
thanks again yes the QF lounge is on my bucket list and it looks that we are departing today from 155 at TBIT so ^
John
thejohn is offline  
Old Apr 23, 16, 11:22 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 98
Originally Posted by crazy8534 View Post
Also, assuming your profile is correct and you are BA Gold and have a bit of time, remember to avail yourself of the Qantas F lounge in TBIT.
If you have time also pop into the OW / BA lounge at TBIT and grab a chocolate brownie, they are truly wonderful!
alwayswanttoturnleft is offline  
Old Apr 23, 16, 1:27 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold GL
Posts: 154
I'm doing that same itinerary today! The LAS flights now seem to be arriving and departing from T6 at LAX. Well we departed from T6 on Monday and arrived back into T6 today. You can thru check your luggage from LAS but we didn't. I'm sure there is a connecting bus from T6 to T4 (as there is from T4 to T6) then thru the connector to TBIT however as we didn't thru check our luggage we walked from T6 to TBIT which took about 5 mins.

Just as an FYI on the outbound, while we checked our bags in at T4 the agent told us it would be quicker to walk to T6 rather than using the connecting bus from T4 and go thru security there... There was no queue at T6 so it was very fast. However while she told us that we could use the Alaska Boardroom lounge, the person manning the lounge said otherwise despite me being a GGL and travelling F. She said they only recognised AA top tier. AA seemed to be very vague about the whole thing so have not got an answer to that yet.
RJLondonGold is offline  
Old Apr 24, 16, 3:42 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 13,545
Hi,

When I did the las lax flight on Tuesday afternoon we arrived at terminal 4.

Regards

Tbs
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Old Apr 24, 16, 3:49 am
  #13  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 12,988
Originally Posted by The _Banking_Scot View Post
Hi,

When I did the las lax flight on Tuesday afternoon we arrived at terminal 4.

Regards

Tbs
The majority of LAS flights do still depart/arrive at T4. From what I understand it is the PHX based aircraft that use T6 (typically (FME) the former US A321 aircraft).
Tobias-UK is offline  
Old Apr 24, 16, 11:05 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London
Programs: BAEC bouncing from Blue to Gold to Blue VSFC Red CXGreen Club Accor Platinum Hilton Silver.
Posts: 855
Just a update. Arrived T4 gate 40 walked to TIBIT through the new connector and straight into the Qantas first lounge without any more security checks. Any one passing by I would heartily recommend food was cooked to order and great staff. Why are all lounges not like this.
John
thejohn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: