How to book overnight connection ?

Old Jan 22, 12, 9:19 am
  #1  
Original Poster
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeAman Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,415
How to book overnight connection ?

I'ld like to book an overnight connection at LHR on an award ticket, instead of a stopover due to tax/fees reasons... is it possible to do? I figure it would be a call center call....

so here's the scenario...
I would like to book IST-LHR BA 0667 arriving at 1940 on October 13th, connecting to BA 293 LHR-IAD departing 1710 on October 14th...

So if I book this as a stopover, which I can do online it's about 2K in fees (in F/CE).. If I can book this as a connection I would save about $500..


Anyone ever do anything similar?

thanks
FDW
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 9:56 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cumbria UK
Programs: BAEC Silver, Priority Club Gold
Posts: 417
I think you will only be able to book this as a stopover.
spbeck is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:01 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC (Gold), Hilton (Gold)
Posts: 4,168
I think you'll probably need to call the EC up I'm afraid.

BAH

Last edited by BAHumbug; Jan 22, 12 at 10:15 am Reason: Brainwave was brainfart
BAHumbug is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:09 am
  #4  
Original Poster
Aman Contributor BadgeFour Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,415
Originally Posted by BAHumbug View Post
I think you'll probably need to call the EC up I'm afraid.

Subsequent brainwave. Why do you need the itinerary to all be on one booking ? You could just book it all as singles - Redemption flights are fully flexible so you lose little by doing this. BA will through check your bags if that's what you're worried about
BAH
Forgot to mention that I'm trying to do this all on a 2 for 1 voucher...

so IAD-LHR-IST and return is $1500 in fees
if I book a stopover, it's about $2000 fees....

it's less than 23 hours, which I thought perhaps could count as a connection..

FDW
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:12 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC (Gold), Hilton (Gold)
Posts: 4,168
Originally Posted by FlyingDoctorwu View Post
Forgot to mention that I'm trying to do this all on a 2 for 1 voucher...

so IAD-LHR-IST and return is $1500 in fees
if I book a stopover, it's about $2000 fees....

it's less than 23 hours, which I thought perhaps could count as a connection..

FDW
You can ignore my subsequent brainwave as I realised you'd be stung for the UK APD which is what you're trying to avoid.

The rule is that any connection which is <24 hours is a connection and not a stopover so APD is not chargeable. The booking engine is pushing out the wrong fee but I can't think of any other way of making it work. Multi-city would do the job, but that only works for non-redemption bookings.

I do think you'll need to call I'm afraid. I think you should argue the offline booking fee is waived, because the stopover part of the BA website is churning out incorrect fees/surcharges.

BAH
BAHumbug is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:13 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,483
I've certainly been able to do EDI-LHR-xxx with an overnight in London without incurring extra fees. I though the rule was it had to be under 24 hours...
matthewuk is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:18 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cumbria UK
Programs: BAEC Silver, Priority Club Gold
Posts: 417
UK connections dont count as far as I Remember.

With Avios bookings (such as a 2 for 1) it isnt possible to avoid the APD, I dont think time comes into it

Originally Posted by matthewuk View Post
I've certainly been able to do EDI-LHR-xxx with an overnight in London without incurring extra fees. I though the rule was it had to be under 24 hours...
spbeck is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:35 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
Posts: 12,237
Originally Posted by spbeck View Post
UK connections dont count as far as I Remember.

(
Correct.

It has to be an international to international flight to and my reading is that it has to be a connecting flight so on one PNR

have a look at the HMRC rules (section 4)

http://customs.hmrc.gov.uk/channelsP...ent#P339_20484
UKtravelbear is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 10:58 am
  #9  
Original Poster
Aman Contributor BadgeFour Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,415
Originally Posted by BAHumbug View Post
You can ignore my subsequent brainwave as I realised you'd be stung for the UK APD which is what you're trying to avoid.

The rule is that any connection which is <24 hours is a connection and not a stopover so APD is not chargeable. The booking engine is pushing out the wrong fee but I can't think of any other way of making it work. Multi-city would do the job, but that only works for non-redemption bookings.

I do think you'll need to call I'm afraid. I think you should argue the offline booking fee is waived, because the stopover part of the BA website is churning out incorrect fees/surcharges.

BAH
That's my goal, avoiding the APD...
<24 hours should count..

hopefully the call center will agree...

FDW
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 11:09 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,924
Originally Posted by FlyingDoctorwu View Post
Forgot to mention that I'm trying to do this all on a 2 for 1 voucher...

so IAD-LHR-IST and return is $1500 in fees
if I book a stopover, it's about $2000 fees....

it's less than 23 hours, which I thought perhaps could count as a connection..

FDW
Just books it with a stopover on the London, and ba.com will not charge any additional APD, if the stopover is <24 hours.

I just did a dummy IAD-IST on 3 Oct, returning 13 Oct, stopping over at LHR till 14 October, and it charges fees of 521 per person, the same as on a direct return.
Smirnoff is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 11:10 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,924
Originally Posted by FlyingDoctorwu View Post
That's my goal, avoiding the APD...
<24 hours should count..

hopefully the call center will agree...

FDW
You don't need to call. If you select the dates and flights on ba.com, it will not charge additional taxes.
Smirnoff is offline  
Old Jan 22, 12, 11:18 am
  #12  
Original Poster
Aman Contributor BadgeFour Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,415
Originally Posted by Smirnoff View Post
You don't need to call. If you select the dates and flights on ba.com, it will not charge additional taxes.
thanks! I swear I was doing it earlier and the engine was giving me a higher rate.!

FDW
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: