TP Run without Passport

Old Jan 8, 10, 3:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Francisco, formerly London and Glasgow
Programs: BA Gold, HH Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 93
TP Run without Passport

My passport is being held hostage at the US Embassy while they process my visa and I'm in need of 80TP, now normally I'd just do LGW -> AMS -> LGW in CE and be done with it.

Does anyone know if its possible to fly to JER without a passport?
Scott Mac is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:33 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 352
I don't know if you need your passport for JER, but if you fly from City airport to GLA for e.g. with hand luggage only and use the self service check in, you won't be asked for your passport at any point. At least I wasn't when I did this route...

(Edit: just noticed you need 80 points, so LCY-GLA is no good)
MilesCollector is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:39 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Programs: BA Blue, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 2,529
Passengers arriving from outside of the Common Travel Area (United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, Channel Islands and the Isle of Man) will pass through an Immigration control. Passengers are examined under local legislation and those who qualify for admission are allowed to proceed.
http://www.gov.je/HomeAffairs/CusAndImm/Immigration/

I suspect you will just walk through like a domestic flight. You will still need ID to board.

some more info about CTA

http://www.ind.homeoffice.gov.uk/tra...montravelarea/

Last edited by johnny5a; Jan 8, 10 at 3:45 pm Reason: more info about Common Travel Area
johnny5a is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:41 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GCM
Posts: 973
Originally Posted by Scott Mac View Post
Does anyone know if its possible to fly to JER without a passport?
You do not need a Passport for Jersey, I live here, out of LGW they take a photo of you and then confirm the photo at the gate (its then deleted).
joejet is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:42 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Francisco, formerly London and Glasgow
Programs: BA Gold, HH Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 93
Thanks guys, I guess I'm going to JER on Sunday then
Scott Mac is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:45 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ARN
Programs: Mucci Entry Level, BA Gold, EK Pleb, SK Pleb, QR Pleb
Posts: 3,585
Why not Gibraltar, it's a domestic flight?
Lobengula is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:45 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Programs: BA Blue, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 2,529
Originally Posted by Scott Mac View Post
My passport is being held hostage at the US Embassy while they process my visa
Worth getting a second a passport if this happens a lot!
johnny5a is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 3:56 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Programs: BA EC Gold
Posts: 9,234
Originally Posted by Lobengula View Post
Why not Gibraltar, it's a domestic flight?
I'd be very interested in knowing if one actually passes through passport control when going to Gibraltar; I rang the Gibraltar representative office in London on behalf of a friend who's a non-EEA national and the man down the line seemed really perplexed before seeming certain that my friend needed a visa to enter Gibraltar from the mainland UK.
ajax is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 4:29 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 646
Originally Posted by Lobengula View Post
Why not Gibraltar, it's a domestic flight?
http://www.fco.gov.uk/en/travel-and-...uirements&pg=4

"A full valid British passport is required for all British nationals visiting Gibraltar."
alasdair_m is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 4:45 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SE1, London
Posts: 21,822
There is passport control on arrival at GIB.
Swanhunter is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 6:04 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ARN
Programs: Mucci Entry Level, BA Gold, EK Pleb, SK Pleb, QR Pleb
Posts: 3,585
Originally Posted by alasdair_m View Post
http://www.fco.gov.uk/en/travel-and-...uirements&pg=4

"A full valid British passport is required for all British nationals visiting Gibraltar."
This is interesting. You British need a passport but I don't

"Passports are required by all visitors to Gibraltar, except EU nationals who are in possession of a valid national identity card."

http://www.gibraltar.gov.gi/getting-to-gibraltar/visa

But then the U.K. is also in the EU, I'm confused One of the linked information must be wrong.

Edit: Ok, suffering from insomnia I had to investigate this further. It seems that there isn't a commonly available national ID card in the UK, yet. So unless you live in Manchester, you must bring the British passport.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nationa...United_Kingdom)

Last edited by Lobengula; Jan 8, 10 at 6:58 pm
Lobengula is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 6:15 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Programs: OW Sapphire, Sixt Diamond, Hertz PC, Avis PC, Hyatt Explorer, IHG Spire, Marriott Gold
Posts: 4,937
Originally Posted by Scott Mac View Post
Thanks guys, I guess I'm going to JER on Sunday then
I have been to JER few months back with UK driving licence only and had no problems.
jms_uk is online now  
Old Jan 8, 10, 6:46 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West London
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 209
I flew LGW-JER-LGW with BA last year, and wasn't asked for any ID at any point (though I did have my passport with me just in case).
HighlandPark is offline  
Old Jan 8, 10, 11:11 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 12,048
Originally Posted by Lobengula View Post
Why not Gibraltar, it's a domestic flight?
I read that HKG used to be classified as domestic too.
Sixth Freedom is offline  
Old Jan 9, 10, 2:32 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: AA EXP/LTP 4MM, BA GGL/CCR/GfL, HH Dia, SPG Plat/LTP
Posts: 9,430
Germany and Switzerland, maybe more ?

From personal experience I know that it's possible to enter Germany and Switzerland without passport. In Germany they issued a temporary passport, in my case valid (and only needed) for one day. Entering ZRH immigration went smoth as silk with only a driver's license and a reference to hotel where I were to stay. They actually called to check for an existing reservation in my name. No extra paperwork needed.

It would not surprise me if your intended TR to AMS could be done just as easy.
onobond is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread