Community
Wiki Posts
Search

One week between Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur

Search this Thread

Old Jul 20, 2017, 10:19 am
Original Poster

One week between Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur

Next February I'll be in SE Asia. I've carved out a week with nothing between when I need to be in Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur. I've researched Bangkok, Siem Reap area temples and beaches/resorts on both sides of the Malay peninsula, as well as diving into a lot of threads in this forum. At this point, since it appears I'll be solo (unless my partner changes jobs and has some flexibility), I'm leaning toward playing it safe with 2-3 days in/around Bangkok, Siem Reap for a couple days, and then 1-2 days in Kuala Lumpur.

But am I missing something critical in the area? Maybe something that's a little more off the beaten path and won't be in a few years? I like exploring. I don't particularly like crowds. I'm not a novice traveler. This part of the world isn't my bailiwick, though. I've generally ended up around the US, Caribbean or Europe.

So, let's say you had a free week on your own between Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur. Where would you go? Also, would you do something differently if you weren't traveling solo?
Old Jul 20, 2017, 11:15 am

Originally Posted by venomtrilogy
Maybe something that's a little more off the beaten path and won't be in a few years? I like exploring. I don't particularly like crowds. I'm not a novice traveler.

So, let's say you had a free week on your own between Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur. Where would you go? Also, would you do something differently if you weren't traveling solo?
Myanmar.

Bangkok and KL are just big cities with lots of people.
Old Jul 20, 2017, 11:18 am