Community
Wiki Posts
Search

AMEX points- HELP!

Search this Thread

Old Sep 30, 2006, 11:11 pm
Original Poster

AMEX points- HELP!

Hey everyone, NEWBIE here but semi got an idea. I have 65K miles on my AMEX. I know , or at least think, I cant transfer them to my AA account. MEX said I coud transfer my miles to Mexicana which was the cheapest with 90k miles needed but how could I get the other 35k miles.

Basically I'm trying to get thee damn AMEX points to use. Any help?
Old Oct 1, 2006, 12:04 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

First, welcome to FT.
The AmEx membership rewards forum may be a better place for this, but don't do anything--if a mod thinks that's where it should be they'll move it there.

You can transfer MR points to a number of airline FF programs:
JetBlue Airways, Hawaiian Airlines, Delta Air Lines, All Nippon Airways, Virgin Atlantic Airways, Mexicana, Frontier Airlines, EL AL Israel Airlines, Southwest Airlines, AirTran

You mention Mexicana, I presume because you're interested in flying on American award travel. It would help to know more about where/when you're trying to go. Maybe AA wouldn't be the best way to get there, maybe it would. Maybe Mexicana would be a good choice for a transfer, maybe it wouldn't.

Also, if you have 65K MR points and need 90K miles for an award, you're talking about a difference of 25K, not 35K.
Old Oct 3, 2006, 10:37 pm

Programs: UA 1MM, MR Plat Elite
Transferring AMEX points to airlines is one way to use them. AMEX now offers an online travel service that allows you to buy an actual ticket and use the points towards that ticket. So, your 65K point is good for $650. You can earn miles on that ticket, and possibly upgrade (depending on the class of fare), etc. You should check that out. I forget where I saw this on AMEX's site, but you have to create a separate login for travel, and the ticket prices may not be as competitive as if you looked elsewhere, but it is an option.

Bubba
Old Oct 5, 2006, 8:47 pm
og