Hyatt suites no longer available through FHR?

Old Jul 25, 19, 6:17 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, Hyatt Plat, GE/TSAPre
Posts: 248
Hyatt suites no longer available through FHR?

Ive been planning a stay at the Park Hyatt Zanzibar and was looking at purchasing through FHR earlier this week. My plan had been to book one of the small suites, and the FHR price looked good.

I had held off on pulling the trigger and went back today - to my surprise FHR is now only showing standard rooms.

Anyone else seeing this sort of availability changes with Hyatt properties on FHR? Wondering if itís a bug and I should wait a day or two or if itís intentional on one side or the other and I should book elsewhere.
phxrsng is offline  
Old Jul 25, 19, 6:20 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,873
Have you tried calling PTS/CTS about the issue? Sometimes they can call the hotel and request availability for the room category (suite in this case) you want.

Alternatively, look at booking through Hyatt Prive. Those agents frequently have personal connections at properties, or can enlist a colleague who does.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jul 25, 19, 6:26 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, Hyatt Plat, GE/TSAPre
Posts: 248
Calling PTS is probably the next step - but I was hoping to get the 5x points which requires it be booked online and not PTS.

To be clear the rooms are available and listed when searching though Hyatt. Just not showing on FHR.
phxrsng is offline  
Old Jul 25, 19, 9:35 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 41,391
AMEX sells different (i.e., more limited) inventory under FHR rates. If they're not offering suites for your nights, it's because AMEX no longer has suite inventory to sell.

There is no basis for drawing any broader conclusion about FHR generally.
Kacee is online now  
Old Jul 26, 19, 9:28 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, Hyatt Plat, GE/TSAPre
Posts: 248
Thanks Kacee - I'm aware that the FHR rate is not the same inventory as the standard rates, but the suites had gone from available normally to not available at all throughout this year based on some spot checking. It looked like everything but basic rooms had been totally zeroed out which seemed like it had to be either a glitch or an active decision by Hyatt not to offer suites on the FHR rate.

In any case, as of this morning all the rooms were once again listed on all the dates I checked, so I'm going to chalk this up to a temporary inventory glitch or readjustment.

All good now. On the other hand, Hyatt's site is now erroring on any attempt to price out rooms so - good 48 hours all around for trying to make any Hyatt reservations.
phxrsng is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread