Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Newbie Question - International Connections

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 8, 2018, 12:19 pm
Original Poster

I fly domestically a good bit but have only flown international once or twice in my life and it has been awhile.

In August I am flying BNA-DUB, via AA. I have a choice of connecting through various cities ORD, PHL, or CLT. My question is, the first flight showing only has 40 min layover at ORD to grab my international flight out. That does not even seem possible, is it? If not, why would AA even offer to sell me this ticket? I plan on checking a bag. Do I have to collect it and recheck?

And my complete newbie question, will I go through immigration at BNA or my connecting airport? Security once or twice? Thanks.
Old Jun 8, 2018, 12:24 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Originally Posted by fastpoint
I fly domestically a good bit but have only flown international once or twice in my life and it has been awhile.

In August I am flying BNA-DUB, via AA. I have a choice of connecting through various cities ORD, PHL, or CLT. My question is, the first flight showing only has 40 min layover at ORD to grab my international flight out. That does not even seem possible, is it? If not, why would AA even offer to sell me this ticket? I plan on checking a bag. Do I have to collect it and recheck?

And my complete newbie question, will I go through immigration at BNA or my connecting airport? Security once or twice? Thanks.
40 mins is certainly tight at ORD but it's also completely doable if you're on time.