Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Booking LATAM (LAN and TAM) award / flights using AA miles

Booking LATAM (LAN and TAM) award / flights using AA miles

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 31, 20, 7:42 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Mwenenzi
Wiki Link
LATAM has been a one world partner, but

LATAM has stated it intends to leave oneworld 30 April 2020 01 October 2020.
https://www.oneworld.com/news/2020-0...ive-1-May-2020

oneworld statement on LATAM

26 SEPTEMBER 2019
LATAM advised oneworld earlier today of their decision to partner with an airline outside of the oneworld alliance. LATAM further advised oneworld that they intend to leave the alliance in due course and in accordance with formal contractual requirements. We are disappointed, but we respect their decision. They have been a valued long-term member of the alliance, and we wish them well.

Our priority at this time is to our customers and while LATAM remains a member of oneworld, the full customer benefits will continue to be delivered. As the transition continues, we will work to ensure a seamless experience for our customers.

oneworld remains a strong coalition of high-quality airlines. There has been significant progress in member airlines deepening their bilateral relationships, as evidenced by the recent regulatory approval of the American Airlines and Qantas joint business.
LATAM must give notice one year prior to departure. AA has apparently already pulled its codeshares operated by LATAM. The ability to use AA miles to fly LATAM on awards could also end before LATAM departs oneworld.



Print Wikipost

Old Apr 30, 15, 4:44 pm
  #61  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: FIND ME ON TWITTER FOR THE LATEST
Posts: 27,734
Originally Posted by alect View Post
Hunch was right - called back - another agent who was willing to take exact details (date, airport codes, flight #) and saw the availability and booked me in for 6k +$4 taxes - initially mentioned $40 booking fee - but I mentioned that should be waived due to policy and not being able to book online - the fee was omitted!!
Glad it worked out!
JonNYC is offline  
Old May 1, 15, 9:35 am
  #62  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SMF/HPN
Programs: DL DM, AS MVP, Hilton Gold, IHG Plat, SPG Gold, TSA PreCheck
Posts: 464
Booking Award ticket on LAN/TAM within Ecuador

Hey all,

It's my first time posting on the AA forum. I did a quick search but couldn't find anything related to my question.

I'm trying to book two low-level award tickets from Guayaquil/Quito to Baltra Island using AA miles. The AA website and award redemption chart leads me to believe that I can't do this.

Is that true? Is it not possible to use AA miles to book an intra-South American award ticket? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks
berliner5000 is offline  
Old May 1, 15, 9:55 am
  #63  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Programs: OW Emerald
Posts: 1,448
Originally Posted by berliner5000 View Post
Hey all,

It's my first time posting on the AA forum. I did a quick search but couldn't find anything related to my question.

I'm trying to book two low-level award tickets from Guayaquil/Quito to Baltra Island using AA miles. The AA website and award redemption chart leads me to believe that I can't do this.

Is that true? Is it not possible to use AA miles to book an intra-South American award ticket? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks
You cannot book LAN tickets online. You will need to call in order to do so.

I am not sure what in the redemption chart leads you to believe this is not possible. UIO-GPS would be a "wholly within Ecuador" award; 5K in main cabin.
jridge is offline  
Old May 1, 15, 10:12 am
  #64  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SMF/HPN
Programs: DL DM, AS MVP, Hilton Gold, IHG Plat, SPG Gold, TSA PreCheck
Posts: 464
My bad! I was only looking at the AA/US Air chart!

http://www.aa.com/i18n/AAdvantage/re...ward-chart.jsp

I didn't realize that there was another one!!! Thanks!!
berliner5000 is offline  
Old May 1, 15, 11:20 am
  #65  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, United, British Airways, Alaska Air
Posts: 227
I'd price out the trip before using miles - I'm going to Colombia and will need a ticket BOG-->CTG (return), and I'd rather spend the $100 (and get miles) instead of using miles... for me, it's a better scenario since I'm unable to get many more CCs at the moment. You may want to see how much it costs for the flight before using the miles...
EtoileFilante is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 6:40 am
  #66  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 64
Booking TAM flight segment on way from YYZ-SYD with AAdvantage

New to using AAdvantage points, apologies if this is a super basic question.

I see availability on YYZ->JFK-> SYD on TAM then Qantas during the date I'm interested in for one person in economy while using BA search engine. It does not show up on searching on the AA site, I tried calling AA and they said no availability as a reward flight for them currently

Is it that TAM is not giving availability to AA right now? If so, is there a possibility it might open up at a later date? And if so, when!

Or is it that you can't use a TAM flight in NA if not heading to Brazil?

Thanks a lot
TJ1010F is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 7:31 am
  #67  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Programs: OW Emerald
Posts: 1,448
Originally Posted by TJ1010F View Post
New to using AAdvantage points, apologies if this is a super basic question.

I see availability on YYZ->JFK-> SYD on TAM then Qantas during the date I'm interested in for one person in economy while using BA search engine. It does not show up on searching on the AA site, I tried calling AA and they said no availability as a reward flight for them currently

Is it that TAM is not giving availability to AA right now? If so, is there a possibility it might open up at a later date? And if so, when!

Or is it that you can't use a TAM flight in NA if not heading to Brazil?

Thanks a lot
TAM availability does not show up on aa.com period - you have to call.

There must be a published fare (in this case, between YYZ and SYD) that permits the routing and carriers that you want to use on the award.

Thus, assuming it is Qantas who publish the YYZ-SYD fare, the fare rules must permit a connection in JFK and they must permit TAM to fly the YYZ-JFK segment. The last part is most likely not true.
jridge is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 10:45 am
  #68  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: YQM
Posts: 337
You could always book JFK-SYD with AAdvantage, and book a separate award for YYZ-JFK on JJ, for 4500 BA avios in Y.
Hyacinthe is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 11:13 am
  #69  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 22,064
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by Hyacinthe
You could always book JFK-SYD with AAdvantage, and book a separate award for YYZ-JFK on JJ, for 4500 BA avios in Y.
True, but with JJ and QF ticketed separately, there's no assurance of protection in the event of IRROPS.
guv1976 is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 11:40 am
  #70  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 64
Originally Posted by Hyacinthe View Post
You could always book JFK-SYD with AAdvantage, and book a separate award for YYZ-JFK on JJ, for 4500 BA avios in Y.
I was thinking about that but how does that work logistically with checked baggage?
TJ1010F is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 1:26 pm
  #71  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 22,064
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Is there no award availability on AA from YYZ to JFK? From YYZ to LGA?

If you put YYZ-SYD into the award search engine on aa.com, does anything show up as available?
guv1976 is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 2:40 pm
  #72  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: DCA
Programs: US CP, SPG Plat
Posts: 310
Is there a particular reason why you want to fly via Brazil? My one experience in J on a JJ 330 was not exactly something I would want to repeat on two back-to-back long haul flights.

Why not just go via LAX or even SCL?
chris4096 is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 2:53 pm
  #73  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 22,064
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by chris4096
Is there a particular reason why you want to fly via Brazil? My one experience in J on a JJ 330 was not exactly something I would want to repeat on two back-to-back long haul flights.

Why not just go via LAX or even SCL?
The OP does not want to go via Brazil. The OP wants to fly YYZ-JFK on TAM, and JFK-SYD on Qantas.
guv1976 is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 4:37 pm
  #74  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 64
Originally Posted by guv1976 View Post
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Is there no award availability on AA from YYZ to JFK? From YYZ to LGA?

If you put YYZ-SYD into the award search engine on aa.com, does anything show up as available?
Nope, nothing that involves YYZ-JFK on AA when searching on aa.com, and thus, not the JFK-SYD leg either. The YYZ-JFK on TAM only shows up as part of a search on BA.
TJ1010F is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 5:14 pm
  #75  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Programs: OW Emerald
Posts: 1,448
Originally Posted by TJ1010F View Post
I was thinking about that but how does that work logistically with checked baggage?
Many OW airlines will check bags through when on separate tickets. You'd be subject to TAM's policy on that. As noted, you have no protection if the TAM flight is delayed, so may be better to stopover in NYC anyway.

The allowance would be separate for each ticket, i.e. effectively the lesser of the two.
jridge is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: