Accessing upgrade/standby list without checking in

 
Old Sep 18, 15, 8:59 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NYC, ORD
Programs: AA EXP, AS 75K, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 280
Accessing upgrade/standby list without checking in

I have several flights tomorrow on the same PNR - BNA-DFW-LAX-MIA-GRU. I cannot check in because of the flight to GRU, because they have to check my docs at the airport. As a result, I cannot see the upgrade list for BNA-DFW-LAX from the app. Is there any other way I can view it?
vhrum is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 9:46 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 394
*****

Last edited by Geauxtigers; Aug 14, 16 at 11:52 pm
Geauxtigers is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 10:18 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: BOS, LAX
Programs: AA GLD, B6 Mosaic, HH Diamond
Posts: 730
If you're not checked in, you won't see yourself on the upgrade list even at T-4.
grrizzli is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 12:00 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 344
I have been able to view the upgrade list for any flight from the app at T-4. All it takes is checking the flight status.
ShortDog is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 1:35 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TPA/AUS
Programs: AA EXP/2MM/AC; UA Silver; Marriott LTT; National Car Executive Elite
Posts: 2,348
Is there a way to view both Upgrade and Standby lists? As an EXP, I can usually only see the U/G list.
MsEverywhere is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 1:39 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NYC, ORD
Programs: AA EXP, AS 75K, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 280
Originally Posted by grrizzli View Post
If you're not checked in, you won't see yourself on the upgrade list even at T-4.
Originally Posted by ShortDog View Post
I have been able to view the upgrade list for any flight from the app at T-4. All it takes is checking the flight status.
So do I need to be checked in, or not? I rarely (if ever) don't check in ASAP, so I don't have any experience with seeing/not seeing the upgrade list without being checked in.

Originally Posted by MsEverywhere View Post
Is there a way to view both Upgrade and Standby lists? As an EXP, I can usually only see the U/G list.
I can usually see the standby list as well as the upgrade list.
vhrum is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 1:40 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC, USA
Programs: AA EXP 3MM, Lifetime Platinum, SPG Gold, MR Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 10,439
I believe you have to be on the flight to see the standby list but anybody can view the upgrade list for any flight within 4 hours of departure time. I believe.
ESpen36 is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 4:31 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NYC, ORD
Programs: AA EXP, AS 75K, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 280
Originally Posted by ESpen36 View Post
I believe you have to be on the flight to see the standby list but anybody can view the upgrade list for any flight within 4 hours of departure time. I believe.
Thanks! This is just the info I was looking for.
vhrum is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 4:32 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: BOS, LAX
Programs: AA GLD, B6 Mosaic, HH Diamond
Posts: 730
Originally Posted by vhrum View Post
I have several flights tomorrow on the same PNR - BNA-DFW-LAX-MIA-GRU. I cannot check in because of the flight to GRU, because they have to check my docs at the airport. As a result, I cannot see the upgrade list for BNA-DFW-LAX from the app. Is there any other way I can view it?
No. Even if there's a way to see the upgrade list on another passenger's AA app travelling on the same flight at T-4, the upgrade list will be incorrect because it will omit you. Only when you check in at the airport you'll see your name show up on the upgrade list at the proper position (assuming everyone else on the flight has already checked in).
grrizzli is offline  
Old Sep 18, 15, 6:45 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SFO
Programs: AA ExPlat, NW Plat, UA 2P
Posts: 555
Originally Posted by vhrum View Post
I have several flights tomorrow on the same PNR - BNA-DFW-LAX-MIA-GRU. I cannot check in because of the flight to GRU, because they have to check my docs at the airport. As a result, I cannot see the upgrade list for BNA-DFW-LAX from the app. Is there any other way I can view it?

Wow!! You have a looonngg day and night ahead!!, especially if not upgraded.
MeVoy is offline  
Old Sep 19, 15, 3:13 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,373
aa.com has recently been changed that anyone can view the Upgrade list to any flight at T-4, similar to the US website. From time to time I will track my a/c from the morning and on Flight Status see the Upgrade List although I am not on that flight.
newyorkgeorge is offline  
Old Sep 19, 15, 10:09 pm
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC (but temporarily MIA)
Programs: AA EXP/3MM
Posts: 29,628
Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge View Post
aa.com has recently been changed that anyone can view the Upgrade list to any flight at T-4, similar to the US website. From time to time I will track my a/c from the morning and on Flight Status see the Upgrade List although I am not on that flight.
It's not even that recent. I've been doing it for over a year. (On the app, not on aa.com.)

Last edited by vasantn; Sep 20, 15 at 8:03 am Reason: Correction thanks to Stripe
vasantn is offline  
Old Sep 19, 15, 10:47 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: AUS
Programs: AA Exec Platinum/MM, DL Silver/MM, Hilton Diamond, Hertz 5* Gold
Posts: 5,799
Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge View Post
aa.com has recently been changed that anyone can view the Upgrade list to any flight at T-4, similar to the US website. From time to time I will track my a/c from the morning and on Flight Status see the Upgrade List although I am not on that flight.
aa.com? Don't you mean the AA app?

Unlike UA and DL, AA has not seen fit to let you see the upgrade list on the website as far as I know.
Stripe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread