Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Alaska
Reload this Page >

Lower 48 Cell carrier coverage in AK?

Lower 48 Cell carrier coverage in AK?

Old Jul 9, 18, 4:26 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere in Florida
Posts: 1,852
Lower 48 Cell carrier coverage in AK?

Hi all,
Looks like a few of us in my office will be spending quite a bit of time in AK over the next few months, starting Saturday (just got the e-mail about an hour ago). We have a split Verizon / T-Mobile contract for cell service at the office. Which carrier would be better suited for AK? It's my understanding that T-Mobile has agreements with GCI. I can't find much info on what Verizon has up there.
KRSW is offline  
Old Jul 15, 18, 9:58 am
  #2  
Xlr
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: Amex Platinum, Chase Sapphire Reserve
Posts: 740
T-Mobile works pretty much perfectly with GCI. You may have to change your on-device settings to enable data roaming.
Xlr is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 6:35 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: ENA
Programs: AS - MVP, Star Citizen - Concierge/Subscriber
Posts: 92
I have heard rumors about Verizon working in Anchorage but cannot confirm as I am on ATT
RoamingGeek is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 2:58 am
  #4  
Moderator, Alaska Airlines & FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SGF
Programs: AS, AA, UA, AGR (ex-75K, GLD, 1K, and S+), Choice Diamond, HZ PC, Costco Exec, NPS Passport
Posts: 22,880
Verizon now provides native LTE service in most of Alaska's population centers (Anchorage/the Valley/the Kenai Peninsula plus the Juneau and Fairbanks areas). The Verizon coverage map is accurate: https://www.verizonwireless.com/feat...map=4glte#maps

Because it's a recent addition (previously, they roamed on ACS), they only installed 4G LTE. If you have a 3G/CDMA device, it will not connect to native Verizon and will (slowly) roam on GCI's legacy CDMA network. As well, if you travel outside of the native LTE coverage area, you'll fall back to 3G/CDMA, but it will be roaming on GCI's legacy CDMA network.

Native T-Mobile subscribers may be able to roam on GCI (I cannot confirm, as I do not have T-Mo), but I can tell you that MVNOs that use the T-Mo network likely will not roam.

Among the national providers, AT&T provides the best coverage (by far) in Alaska, with Verizon in a distant second. T-Mo has no native service in Alaska (you'll have to rely on other reports about roaming agreements), and Sprint is the worst of the bunch (no native service and very poor roaming agreements, if any).

For mission-critical connectivity outside of the populated centers of the state, the only realistic option is GCI's newer GSM/HSPA/LTE network. They do have various prepaid products (SIMs, etc.) that may help.
jackal is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 9:10 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: So Fla & NYC
Programs: DL DM/MM, UA MM, BV Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 23,315
We used T-Mo recently in ANC and the data and voice service were perfect on the GCI network. However voice mail did not work up there on either of our lines. A check seemed to show that call forwarding seemed not to work. We needed to keep the phones handy so as not to miss any calls.
jackal likes this.
monitor is offline  
Old Jul 20, 18, 6:20 am
  #6  
fti
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MN
Programs: Lots of programs, dirt on all of them!
Posts: 11,889
Originally Posted by monitor View Post
We used T-Mo recently in ANC and the data and voice service were perfect on the GCI network. However voice mail did not work up there on either of our lines. A check seemed to show that call forwarding seemed not to work. We needed to keep the phones handy so as not to miss any calls.
I have T Mobile and voice mail works in Alaska when entering a password after dialing voice mail. There is also a "visual voicemail" app at least for Android thatworks great for missed calls. You can play back missed messages through that app.
fti is offline  
Old Jul 20, 18, 12:19 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: So Fla & NYC
Programs: DL DM/MM, UA MM, BV Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 23,315
Neither worked for me last week. As usual. YMMV
monitor is offline  
Old Aug 3, 18, 12:28 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas, USA
Programs: AAdvantage, HH, SPG Gold
Posts: 207
I got excellent service in Anchorage airport on AT&T. Absolutely no service outside of Anchorage. It was kind of nice.
Sweetone is offline  
Old Aug 4, 18, 12:33 pm
  #9  
Moderator, Alaska Airlines & FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SGF
Programs: AS, AA, UA, AGR (ex-75K, GLD, 1K, and S+), Choice Diamond, HZ PC, Costco Exec, NPS Passport
Posts: 22,880
Originally Posted by Sweetone View Post
I got excellent service in Anchorage airport on AT&T. Absolutely no service outside of Anchorage. It was kind of nice.
Where was "outside of Anchorage"?
jackal is offline  
Old Aug 14, 18, 7:31 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS MVPG 75K, MR-LT Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 5,770
T-Mobile in Fairbanks?

How is the coverage in Fairbanks for T-Mobile? Thanks
allset2travel is offline  
Old Sep 15, 18, 7:26 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PDX
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,617
Originally Posted by allset2travel View Post
How is the coverage in Fairbanks for T-Mobile? Thanks
If its roaming on GCI itll be extensive.

Most of the big national companies work just fine in the areas youd expect it to. The one exception Id say is Sprint.
Chugach is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread