Wiki Posts
Search

LWS and PUW changes

Search this Thread

Old Mar 29, 2018, 10:42 am
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska 100k
LWS and PUW changes

As a former Palouse resident, I noticed some interesting changes to the local QX service announced the other day.

LWS is losing all QX service beginning 25-Aug including the LWS-BOI and the LWS-SEA service. QX has served this airport with varying routes including GEG, PUW, SEA, and BOI in the past.

The announcement implies that PUW may be getting mainline service starting in August - it mentions that "Alaska is starting service". If so, it will be interesting to see regular 737 traffic at this airport. AS currently operates charters for WSU with 737-series aircraft and QX operates 4-6 flights daily to SEA.

It will be a disappointment to lose the BOI flight as I know a decent number of University employees used it. Hopefully it will be replaced with a PUW-BOI.

krem.com | Lewiston airport loses Horizon Air
Flights no longer on Horizon | Northwest | lmtribune.com
Old Mar 29, 2018, 11:16 am

Programs: AS MVP Gold 100K
If they are withdrawing LWS because of 60% load factors you will not be getting 737 service by AS. Typically QX wants 85% load factor to continue service. As far as QX in PUW, I read it that they will probably get more QX service.
Old Mar 29, 2018, 11:17 am

Programs: AS MVPG, Bonvoy Titanium, NEXUS
That is tough in the winter... over the years there were several times the plane I was on couldn't land at PUW but could make LWS and I was able to get to Pullman via highway. Runway improvements at PUW should help the weather situation though. 737 service will certainly be a big deal there in PUW if it comes to pass.
Old Mar 29, 2018, 12:56 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska 100k
Originally Posted by jsguyrus