Flying to CDG in J. Priority Customs Line?

Old Jul 31, 19, 9:10 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Programs: Delta PM, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, National EE, Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 664
Flying to CDG in J. Priority Customs Line?

Flying to CDG and arriving in 2A. Does Air Canada provide the use of the priority/fast track line in customs? I've only flown to CDG via Air France before and I remember the sign saying it's for No.1 Access and SkyTeam only.
GateGuardian is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 9:15 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: YOW
Programs: AC*SE100K BA-S HH-D IHG-Plat Accor-G MR-S
Posts: 3,481
Originally Posted by GateGuardian View Post
Flying to CDG and arriving in 2A. Does Air Canada provide the use of the priority/fast track line in customs? I've only flown to CDG via Air France before and I remember the sign saying it's for No.1 Access and SkyTeam only.
I have departed CDG on AC twice in the past 12 months and access to priority lanes for outbound immigration and security was provided. Don't know for certain about arrivals, however my guess would be yes.
--
13F
Seat13F_AC_CRJ is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 9:21 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YQB
Programs: AC SEMM
Posts: 495
Originally Posted by GateGuardian View Post
Flying to CDG and arriving in 2A. Does Air Canada provide the use of the priority/fast track line in customs? I've only flown to CDG via Air France before and I remember the sign saying it's for No.1 Access and SkyTeam only.
Yes, unless the SD forgets, you will be getting a No. 1 Access sticker before landing in CDG. I had to remind them once...

Last edited by run&fly; Jul 31, 19 at 9:29 am Reason: typo
run&fly is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 9:21 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: sqrt(-united states of apologist)
Programs: sqrt(-school of apologist)
Posts: 5,206
Yes. But honestly by the time we arrive in 2A it's usually super empty.
SparseFlyer is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 9:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: YQB
Programs: AC SEMM
Posts: 495
Originally Posted by SparseFlyer View Post
Yes. But honestly by the time we arrive in 2A it's usually super empty.
Yes, except for the odd times when it's not ;-)
SparseFlyer likes this.
run&fly is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 9:26 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Programs: Delta PM, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, National EE, Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 664
Thanks. I guess it's because I'm used to flying into 2E and it's always 45min-1hr wait through custom.
GateGuardian is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 12:21 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AC SE*100K
Posts: 1,186
They should stick a little "Access No.1" on your BP. Unless you have an electronic BP, then they stick it to your passport, where it is infinitely reusable. Until it gets worn, then you get them to stick another one...





Usually more useful for exit customs and security than entrance customs though.
Bohemian1, ffsim, run&fly and 2 others like this.
RatherBeInYOW is offline  
Old Jul 31, 19, 12:25 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Programs: AC SE100K, LeClub Platinum, WestJet Gold
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by RatherBeInYOW View Post
Usually more useful for exit customs and security than entrance customs though.
Agreed. If you're in J, you're one of the first to get there, along with all the other J passengers - regular line ends up being faster.

But definitely have had more use out of it when leaving,
Hoogaar is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 9:44 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Programs: AC SE100k, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 2,412
Yes
as long as they remember all J pax should get them.

As an SE in PY, I've asked for one before landing and recieved it too .
Diabeetus is offline  
Old Aug 1, 19, 10:47 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint (Wave as you fly over)
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 2,432
I have a bunch of these in my travel bag for exactly the same reason as @RatherBeInYOW mentions.

Given I have an EU passport (at least until Halloween) as observed up-thread it's more useful leaving than arriving. Especially when they decide to put both families and people with mobility issues in the Priority lane as well.
Bohemian1 is online now  
Old Aug 2, 19, 7:13 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Programs: Aeroplan E50, HH gold, Nat Exec Elite, Kimpton Karma
Posts: 1,545
Originally Posted by Bohemian1 View Post
I have a bunch of these in my travel bag for exactly the same reason as @RatherBeInYOW mentions.

Given I have an EU passport (at least until Halloween) as observed up-thread it's more useful leaving than arriving. Especially when they decide to put both families and people with mobility issues in the Priority lane as well.

Totally agree. Just thinking the other day, as mentioned by @Bohemian1, about the importance of not pulling off the sticker for flights beyond October.
Bartolo is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 12:36 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: No. California
Programs: UA MP HH
Posts: 1,108
Customs in Europe is the red/green aisle/door choice system. There is no need I can think of for priority in that system.

For Immigration processes, on the other hand, having priority can definitely be a good thing.
BlueZebra is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 1:56 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,667
Originally Posted by SparseFlyer View Post
Yes. But honestly by the time we arrive in 2A it's usually super empty.

I landed there 2 weeks ago, and the flight was on time. And yes, it was more than super empty. I think we were the only flight!
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 1:59 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 457
Originally Posted by InTheAirGuy View Post
I landed there 2 weeks ago, and the flight was on time. And yes, it was more than super empty. I think we were the only flight!
I have hit there when we’ve been late and even the fast track looks really bad. Only my EU passport got me out quickly
lallied is offline  
Old Aug 2, 19, 2:05 pm
  #15  
Moderator: Le Club Accorhotels
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: FRA / YEG
Programs: AC Super Elite, Radisson Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 11,484
I still have an ~8 inch No. 1 pass from a few years ago. Are those still valid?
Jasper2009 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread