Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Tight YYZ international connection time

Tight YYZ international connection time

Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:07 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Benicia, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Glbl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,805
Question Tight YYZ international connection time

My wife might be flying AC in economy SFO-YYZ-AMS next June. One option has a tight connection time of one hour and six minutes. (The minimum on the AC site is one hour.) She'll just have carry-on bags. She has US Global Entry, but not the Canadian equivalent. (Sorry I forgot the name of the program.)

Also, both her flights would be 789s, so I'm wondering if by some chance this is the same plane that continues all the way on that route.

In any event, any thoughts and/or advice on her chances of making the connection?

Thanks for any help.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:18 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: Erstwhile Accidental AC E35K
Posts: 2,902
I wouldn't chance it. I did a similar US-Domestic connection last week. The problem is once you clear Canadian immigration, even with Nexus, you get kicked out to groundside and have to re-clear security and get to your gate.

Might be doable under ideal conditions, but a lot can go wrong to cause delays.
Sopwith is online now  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:26 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC 75K
Posts: 6,344
A US-INTL connection is not comparable to a US-Canada connection.

If you’re transiting to an international connection, you don’t need to collect bags or reclear security, and the customs check is a basic check at the transit point.
ChrisA330 is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:27 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: SFO/YYZ
Programs: AC 25K, AS Gold, BA Bronze, DL Silver, UA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,382
Originally Posted by Sopwith
I wouldn't chance it. I did a similar US-Domestic connection last week. The problem is once you clear Canadian immigration, even with Nexus, you get kicked out to groundside and have to re-clear security and get to your gate.

Might be doable under ideal conditions, but a lot can go wrong to cause delays.
OP's wife would not need to do any of those things. Just minimal checks on passport/BP IIRC. I still wouldn't chance it because SFO-YYZ is delayed for me more often than not.

OP, is there no way to book one of the earlier flights out of SFO? UA will be flying that route and AC has flights at 7:35am and 9:55am which gives a nicer buffer than 12:00pm.
nexusCFX is online now  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:27 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: YEG
Posts: 3,925
I'd book this flight. If something happens it'll be up to the airline to reroute. IIRC there is just a quick passport check on the way to the int'l pier which doesn't take too long.

Originally Posted by Sopwith
I wouldn't chance it. I did a similar US-Domestic connection last week. The problem is once you clear Canadian immigration, even with Nexus, you get kicked out to groundside and have to re-clear security and get to your gate.

Might be doable under ideal conditions, but a lot can go wrong to cause delays.
I wouldn't equate the procedure for USA-YYZ-Domestic to USA-YYZ-International (AMS). FWIW I've done plenty of USA-domestic connections at YYZ where my inbound was late and I made the connection with less than 30 minutes on several occasions. In those cases I wouldn't use Nexus, but use the OSS bus instead.
Diabeetus likes this.
YEG USER is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:37 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Benicia, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Glbl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,805
Thanks a lot for the quick and much appreciated replies, folks.

Originally Posted by nexusCFX

OP, is there no way to book one of the earlier flights out of SFO? UA will be flying that route and AC has flights at 7:35am and 9:55am which gives a nicer buffer than 12:00pm.
The noon flight out of SFO would be better for her in terms of work, which is why I asked. But the others might be possible and certainly do provide that buffer. Thanks.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:43 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: Erstwhile Accidental AC E35K
Posts: 2,902
Okay, I stand corrected.

But if it was me, I still wouldn't chance it, mainly because any delay on the inbound leaves you exposed to a misconnect.
Sopwith is online now  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:50 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: YUL
Programs: AC 50K, *A Gold
Posts: 301
Originally Posted by YEG USER
I'd book this flight. If something happens it'll be up to the airline to reroute. IIRC there is just a quick passport check on the way to the int'l pier which doesn't take too long.



I wouldn't equate the procedure for USA-YYZ-Domestic to USA-YYZ-International (AMS). FWIW I've done plenty of USA-domestic connections at YYZ where my inbound was late and I made the connection with less than 30 minutes on several occasions. In those cases I wouldn't use Nexus, but use the OSS bus instead.
Where did you see the Nexus stand for connecting pax?? I Did USA-YYZ-domestic last Friday, they don't accept Nexus at the Connecting Customs agent. It's a small 3-4 agents stand. Then took the bus from the 250 something gates to Domestic terminal. Overall landed at 10:42 pm and my 2nd leg departed the runway at 11:10pm (no joke, on a Friday, did everything in 28 minutes - was the last one to board, I did not really run at YYZ even thought it was my first time).
royal757 is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 5:56 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 23,688
Originally Posted by royal757
Where did you see the Nexus stand for connecting pax?? I Did USA-YYZ-domestic last Friday, they don't accept Nexus at the Connecting Customs agent. It's a small 3-4 agents stand. Then took the bus from the 250 something gates to Domestic terminal. Overall landed at 10:42 pm and my 2nd leg departed the runway at 11:10pm (no joke, on a Friday, did everything in 28 minutes - was the last one to board, I did not really run at YYZ even thought it was my first time).
Previous poster precisely said he did not use Nexus because he used the OSS thing. Which indeed does not take nexus.My experience has been the opposite though, often a long line at OSS so not worth it if you have nexus, better go through the normal exit using nexus, and go through security again on the domestic side. But I guess it all depends upon the time of the day and how busy OSS is.Anyway, none of this is related to the OP's issue. But yes, I would go for the quick connection. Why give up without trying, when once you are in, it is the responsibility of the airline to bring you to destination, and rebook if needed?
Stranger is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 6:13 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: SFO/YYZ
Programs: AC 25K, AS Gold, BA Bronze, DL Silver, UA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,382
Originally Posted by Stranger
Previous poster precisely said he did not use Nexus because he used the OSS thing. Which indeed does not take nexus.My experience has been the opposite though, often a long line at OSS so not worth it if you have nexus, better go through the normal exit using nexus, and go through security again on the domestic side. But I guess it all depends upon the time of the day and how busy OSS is.Anyway, none of this is related to the OP's issue. But yes, I would go for the quick connection. Why give up without trying, when once you are in, it is the responsibility of the airline to bring you to destination, and rebook if needed?
Different views I suppose. I would probably pad my connection rather than risk being rebooked on the same flight the next day since it's a 9pm flight. Does AC provide a hotel for that kind of rebooking if you're in Y?
nexusCFX is online now  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 6:20 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 23,688
Originally Posted by nexusCFX
Different views I suppose. I would probably pad my connection rather than risk being rebooked on the same flight the next day since it's a 9pm flight. Does AC provide a hotel for that kind of rebooking if you're in Y?
Good question. Most credit card insurances do however. (In that situation, I don't ask the airline, just book on my own and let the insurance go after the airline for whatever they pay.)
nexusCFX likes this.
Stranger is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 6:21 pm
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 43,977
Originally Posted by YEG USER
I'd book this flight. If something happens it'll be up to the airline to reroute. IIRC there is just a quick passport check on the way to the int'l pier which doesn't take too long.



I wouldn't equate the procedure for USA-YYZ-Domestic to USA-YYZ-International (AMS). FWIW I've done plenty of USA-domestic connections at YYZ where my inbound was late and I made the connection with less than 30 minutes on several occasions. In those cases I wouldn't use Nexus, but use the OSS bus instead.
The connection process for INTL-INTL (and on the inbound, US is equivalent to INTL) at YYZ is trivially easy. The 789 will park down by the hammerhead. You'll walk slightly past where the MLL is, scan your passport in a machine, and then walk out the other side right by the MLL.

I did SFO-YYZ-AMS with the same flights, and I think I had a good 45 minutes in the lounge.
vernonc likes this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 6:36 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3,359
When going USA to International via Canada, there is no customs or immigration to clear since technically you are not intending to stay (or leave items) behind in the country. Hence, the checks are very minor with luggage behind forwarded to final destination. That and MLLs are one of the few redeeming qualities of doing a Canadian connection. An hour is pushing it albeit as others have noted if you mis-connect it's on the airline to figure it out!

Certainly wouldn't want to spend more than 45 minutes in YYZ without MLL access, in which case it become a field day!

Safe Travels,

James
FlyerTalker70 is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 6:45 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Programs: Amex Plat, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, Carlson Gold, CM Presidential / *A Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,639
Above 2 posters are correct. Its INTL-INTL. You go to the international connections area after you get off your plane. You scan your passport in the machine and it spits out a confirmation that you are connecting INTL. Passangers from the US do not even need to redo security (bags/xrays/etc) - they are allowed through the door inbetween the machines and security right through to airside. I have done PTY-YYZ-AMS a couple of times this year with a 1 hour connection. Had no issues even with having to do security after the machines
pilot007 likes this.
pmarrsouth is offline  
Old Dec 19, 2018, 7:41 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Halifax
Programs: AC SE100K, Marriott Elite/Ambassador. NEXUS, National
Posts: 4,471
Originally Posted by royal757
Where did you see the Nexus stand for connecting pax?? I Did USA-YYZ-domestic last Friday, they don't accept Nexus at the Connecting Customs agent. It's a small 3-4 agents stand. Then took the bus from the 250 something gates to Domestic terminal. Overall landed at 10:42 pm and my 2nd leg departed the runway at 11:10pm (no joke, on a Friday, did everything in 28 minutes - was the last one to board, I did not really run at YYZ even thought it was my first time).
He is saying that he would not use the NEXUS machines downstairs (and go landside, re-clear security), but to talk to a human like a savage and take the bus.

I take the bus whenever I can myself. I make a game of it, seeing how illegible I can make my declaration card without having to redo it. So far, no do overs, and my natural handwriting is nigh impossible to read.
RangerNS is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.