Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

Can you do a stop over on a one way reward ticket?

Can you do a stop over on a one way reward ticket?

Old Jan 18, 17, 3:21 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 126
Can you do a stop over on a one way reward ticket?

Hello,

Planning a flight to Sydney and thinking of doing of a couple of days stop over in Thailand. I will be exchanging my Aeroplans for a ONE WAY reward ticket.

Does anyone know if Aeroplan allows stop overs for one ay reward tickets?

Pushing it even further: would they allow an internal flight (still with TG) to Phuket? So in short something like YUL-BKK-HKT (STOP OVER) then HKT-BKK-SYD. I don't think so since HKT is not on the way to SYD.

But a couple of years ago I was able to get internal flights inside Thailand for the same cost (miles) as just flying to Thailand but at the time I had a round trip ticket. In this case I feel like I'm pushing it
spartac is offline  
Old Jan 18, 17, 3:53 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YVR, FLL/MIA
Programs: AC E75K, Aeroplan Diamond, NEXUS
Posts: 164
Quick Answer: No.

__________________________________________________ __________________________

Detailed answer: Fixed Mileage Flight Reward Travel Involving a Stopover/Open Jaw

Fixed Mileage Flight Reward Travel Involving a Stopover/Open Jaw

26. Stopovers are not permitted on one-way flight rewards.

27. Stopovers and/or open jaws are not permitted on flight rewards with Calm Air.

28. On roundtrip rewards, stopovers are permitted as follows:

28.1. Travel within Canada or between Canada and the Continental USA (not including Hawaii/Puerto Rico): One stopover permitted in addition to the point of turnaround. One open jaw is permitted in lieu of the one stopover.

28.2. Between Canada/Cont. USA and Hawaii/Puerto Rico/Mexico/Central America/Caribbean:

28.2.1. Rule for rewards containing only Air Canada flight: Two stopovers are permitted in addition to the point of turnaround. One open jaw is permitted in lieu of one stopover.

28.2.2. Rule for rewards containing a minimum of one flight on a Star Alliance partner other than Air Canada: One stopover is permitted in addition to the point of turnaround. One open jaw is permitted in addition to the one stopover.

28.3. Intercontinental travel (travel between two continents): Two stopovers permitted in addition to the point of turnaround. One open jaw is permitted in lieu of one of the two stopovers.

28.4. Intracontinental travel (travel within the same continent) except for travel within Canada/Continental USA, or between Canada/Cont. USA and Hawaii/Puerto Rico/Mexico/Central America/Caribbean: Stopovers are not permitted. One open jaw is permitted.
whatchamackallit03 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 17, 5:38 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 126
Thanks for the quick response. That kills that idea...
spartac is offline  
Old Feb 24, 17, 1:09 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: HKG
Programs: AC E25k, NEXUS
Posts: 50
Self made one way stop over with change fee

How about a "self made" stop over with one way ticket?

Say I book the ticket online, if I want to stay in LAX for a couple of days, would Aeroplan let me pay the change fee, and let me change the YVR-LAX leg to an earlier date?
Attached Images  
ksyung is offline  
Old Feb 24, 17, 2:01 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: YVR
Programs: UA Premier Platinum
Posts: 3,609
Originally Posted by ksyung View Post
How about a "self made" stop over with one way ticket?

Say I book the ticket online, if I want to stay in LAX for a couple of days, would Aeroplan let me pay the change fee, and let me change the YVR-LAX leg to an earlier date?
No, for changes in advance of travel, they will still validate the routing.
eigenvector is offline  
Old Feb 24, 17, 2:51 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: HKG
Programs: AC E25k, NEXUS
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by eigenvector View Post
No, for changes in advance of travel, they will still validate the routing.
Thank you, that's good information. How about:
1) I go as planned for YVR-LAX, and LAX-ICN
2) Call Aeroplan to push my ICN-HKG leg for a couple days to stay in ICN?

That's "in the middle" of travel.
ksyung is offline  
Old Feb 24, 17, 5:06 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 35,081
Originally Posted by ksyung View Post
Thank you, that's good information. How about:
1) I go as planned for YVR-LAX, and LAX-ICN
2) Call Aeroplan to push my ICN-HKG leg for a couple days to stay in ICN?

That's "in the middle" of travel.
No, you're still subject to the rules.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Feb 25, 17, 7:17 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,658
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
No, you're still subject to the rules.
+1
Sean Peever is offline  
Old Feb 26, 17, 1:05 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 576
Originally Posted by ksyung View Post
Thank you, that's good information. How about:
1) I go as planned for YVR-LAX, and LAX-ICN
2) Call Aeroplan to push my ICN-HKG leg for a couple days to stay in ICN?

That's "in the middle" of travel.
You're not going to get anything beyond a <24 hour layover on Aeroplan ow with these cities.

If you're intent on stopping over in HKG and ICN, consider using Alaska points instead (Cathay and Korean Air hubs). You can't do a real one-way with Korean Air, so you'd have to go to HKG first with Cathay. 70k Alaska points, low taxes.

Or, your best bet would be to use avios. For 20k Avios you could fly ICN-HKG in Cathay J one-way (determine whether it's intl or regional first, international layout is betttter). That's not too expensive and there's usually amazing availability.

Alternatively, book an Aeroplan round trip, but post-pone the last leg to as far in advance as possible. You can then rebook it (change fee + taxes difference) after several months. This is best value if your concern is about knowing your travel dates and not the number of points.
Nazdoom is offline  
Old Jul 10, 17, 8:50 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: yyz
Programs: Aeroplan, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, BW Diamond
Posts: 25
Sorry I couldn't quite make out from the rules for stopover. Are we allowed 1 stopover or open jaw if I was to do YYZ-Europe 1 return?
sunwin is offline  
Old Jul 10, 17, 10:36 am
  #11  
Moderator: Le Club Accorhotels, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: FRA / YEG
Programs: AC Super Elite, Radisson Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 11,702
Originally Posted by sunwin View Post
Sorry I couldn't quite make out from the rules for stopover. Are we allowed 1 stopover or open jaw if I was to do YYZ-Europe 1 return?
You can actually have two stopovers (in addition to your destination / point of turnaround) on a Canada - Europe r/t award or one stopover + one open-jaw.
Jasper2009 is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 6:04 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,661
sorry to bump this

I know no stopover (>24 hours), but can we do LAYOVER (within 24 hours) on international one-way ticket? Obviously have to call in to book it
e.g. YYZ-PVG lands at 3 pm, stopover for next-day 11am flight PVG-TPE
This takes advantage the 72hour China VISA-WAIVER stay
jerryhung is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 6:22 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Programs: AC E35K
Posts: 5,168
Originally Posted by jerryhung View Post
sorry to bump this

I know no stopover (>24 hours), but can we do LAYOVER (within 24 hours) on international one-way ticket? Obviously have to call in to book it
e.g. YYZ-PVG lands at 3 pm, stopover for next-day 11am flight PVG-TPE
This takes advantage the 72hour China VISA-WAIVER stay
​​​​​​​Yes.
ChrisA330 is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 9:05 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 75
Originally Posted by ChrisA330 View Post


Yes.
Is there a limit in terms of routing for one way transatlantic flights?

Let's say i want to get from BKK to YUL. Could i do BKK - Beijing ( dont remember the code ) - ICN - JFK - YUL ?
coljung is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 9:18 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: YEG
Posts: 3,902
Originally Posted by coljung View Post
Is there a limit in terms of routing for one way transatlantic flights?
All routes are limited by MPM, although there could be published routing that could allow MPM to be exceeded. I'm not sure of the MPM for the city pair in question, nor if Aeroplan is allowing travel via published routings any more based on a recent experience of mine.
YEG USER is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: