Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

YVR domestic MLL. Worst. Renovation. Ever.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 13, 2010, 8:32 am
Original Poster

Programs: Air Canada Aeroplan

This is my first time in the YVR domestic MLL post so-called renovation My immediate impression is that Air Canada could have spared itself the expense and us the aggravation. In order of increasing slap-in-the-customer's-face value:

- The carpets are the same old tired ones, for all I can tell.
- The red chairs and outdoor food court tables sure look classy.

These first two are really petty gripes. It gets better:

- The quality of coffee continues to go down. Van Houtte must die. I t is so bad that I am officially back to paying for Starbucks - and that is saying something.
- There are probably 50% more armchairs crammed in the same space as before.

Cherry on the cake:

- It is bloody hard to find an electrical outlet.

Now, what the hell does AC think a business traveler do in the MLL? Haven't they yet gotten the message? WE WANT OUTLETS! PUT THE DARN ELECTRICAL OUTLETS BACK IN! In this lounge, each set of facing armchairs used to have its own set of outlets before the renos (right next to the dinosaur credit-card operated phones). Now the outlets are only on the walls, and usually taken by the first few pax. I have had to run my extension cord from a center armchair to get power - two people have already almost tripped on it. WHAT IS THE FIRGGING DEAL WITH REMOVING ELECTRICAL OUTLETS? Did BC Hydro just hike your rates that you can't feed our laptops for 30 minutes?

Today, for the first time, I felt I would be better off outside the MLL than in it. In fact, that's where I'm heading for a proper breakfast.
Old May 13, 2010, 9:05 am

Programs: Via Preference Privilege, AC*A, Fairmont Plat, SPG Gold