Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

Need help w/ USAIR segment run from CLT

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 2, 2014, 12:27 pm
Original Poster

Programs: US Chair | SPG Life/Plat | Nat'l Exec Elite

Been reading through all segment related posts... and testing ITA, Hipmunk, etc... still haven't nailed down the right process to keep an eye out for same-day segment runs on USAIR. Are there any "best" destinations to keep searching? As in, what are the destinations that will likely result in multiple segments when using ITA or other tools? Again, departure would be from CLT.

Thanks in advance!
Old Sep 2, 2014, 2:23 pm

Programs: American, Delta, JetBlue, United
I have no experience with segment runs, but it seems to me that you might wish to look into flights originating at an airport smaller than Charlotte if there is one reasonably close to your home. You would need to watch the price carefully, of course, but starting at a smaller airport would frequently add two segments to a RT flight.
Old Sep 2, 2014, 3:21 pm

Programs: UA Silver, AA Platinum, AS & DL GM Marriott TE, Hilton Gold
I used to do a lot of segments X: CLT when US was in the A*.

JPG3392 is right it can be harder to rack up segments originating at a hub, but it's definitely possible.

A good place to look for segments is off season destinations or 'tag on flights' (flights from non hub to a non hub). I know very little about the AA/ US network but here in SAN there is a UA tag on to MMH I can add a segment (usually for cheap) to SFO flying SAN-MMH-SFO.

How many EQS do you need, when can you travel...and when can't you...do you have a budget? Provide some details maybe someone can help a little.

Good luck! M59
Old Sep 2, 2014, 8:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Amethyst Premier Plutonium Medallion