Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Booked a new Candlewood Suites months ago that isn't open

Search this Thread

Old Oct 17, 2016, 11:06 am
Original Poster

Angry Booked a new Candlewood Suites months ago that isn't open

It's for the first weekend in November. I booked this back around last December or January. Four rooms.

Problem is it's in Baton Rouge for the weekend of the Alabama/LSU game. So pretty much no way they can just move me to a different hotel in the area. Everything is booked solid.

This ever happen to anyone else? I'm a Spire Elite member. If they can't move me somewhere comparable, can I expect to be compensated for the extreme inconvenience with points or free nights? Wondering what I should aim for here.

Thanks for any tips!
Old Oct 17, 2016, 11:55 pm

Programs: MileagePlus Premier Silver, IHG Spire Elite, HHonors Silver, RapidRewards
I'm no lawyer but I'm thinking something like that would be considered Force Majeure.

I'd think with an event like that, where you know (or should know) that hotels will be full, that you'd be holding multiple reservations, especially if you knew ahead of time that the property might not be open.

Question - was it a prepaid rate or were you just holding the rooms under a Best Flexible or other refundable rate?
Old Oct 18, 2016, 8:55 am

I was in a similar boat with you (F1 weekend, Austin TX, delayed hotel opening) but got it resolved. I realized my hotel won't open by time but there were no rooms nearby or the price was too high. I was lucky because as F1 approaches, many hotels released rooms. I've got a call from the hotel (roughly one month before my stay) and asked to cancel my reservation (it was a refundable rate, booked directly at ihg website) and make another one at a nearby ihg property which was cheaper.