Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Half return tickets

Search this Thread

Old Oct 22, 2014, 3:04 pm
Original Poster

Half return tickets

Hello there mates. I'm a translator (engaged by a major Russian airline) and I have to turn to you for some help. I've encountered the term half-return ticket/travel in a Special Prorate Agreement between two airlines, which I have been unable to translate so far into Russian despite my best efforts and some nice expertise in googling. Could you please help me out and give me a definition or just explain it to me in as few simple words as you can, because I'm at a total loss here. I mean, I got a couple of theories about what that might mean, but I could really use your help. The full context is as follows (redacted due to NDA):
"A will charge B net fixed amounts in EUR for OW/Half –Return travel applicable in both directions, for carriage of passengers holding B (IATA form 465) tickets". Any help would be much appreciated.
Is the name "half-return travel" official? What does it mean exactly? Are tickets for half-return travel sold as some separate kind of tickets? Is that just a manner of speech used to denote a situation when people buy return tickets only to use the return part and do a no-show for the other half of the ticket, because it's cheaper. Please, help me out with this one.
Old Oct 22, 2014, 3:28 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: KL Platinum; A3 Gold

The term must surely have an existing Russian equivalent. I would advise you to ask a travel agent what the accepted term is, in Russian.
Old Oct 23, 2014, 2:44 am
Original Poster

thanks a lot.
Old Oct 23, 2014, 4:15 am

Programs: Azerbaijan Airlines Gold, Turkish Miles and Smiles, IHG Plat