Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

Would missing a leg cancel the rest of the flights?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 23, 2014, 12:36 am
Original Poster

I'll be flying to Europe in June. I oriignally was planning on flying to London, but it was $200 cheaper to fly to Dublin. I booked my flights through Priceline and to get to Dublin I will be stopping in London. If I end up wanting to could I just stay in London and not fly to Dublin? I'm concerned that not getting on the last flight, to Dublin, would cause them to cancel my return flight, from Timasoara to Orange County.

This is my first time flying so I'm sorry if this is common knowledge. Not really experienced with this stuff.
Old Apr 23, 2014, 12:46 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA/AA/AS/B6/WN/ UA/HH/MR and more like 'em but most felicitously & importantly MUCCI
Hi there and welcome to Flyertalk.

This question comes up a lot and the answer is: not if you want to come home. You are correct that failing to board the London-Dublin segment would result in your return trip being cancelled.

The basic reason is that you bought a ticket to Dublin, not London, and Dublin is less expensive because of the competitive presence there of Aer Lingus, which charges lower prices. Fares are not based on distance but on the level of competition between any two city pairs.

On a return flight itinerary, you can walk away from a final segment if you have no checked bags, don't have a frequent flyer number entered (the airlines can and sometimes will seize your account for this transgression), and don't do it too often. But on the outbound flight you pretty much finish yourself off if you drop off the trip in midstream.

Enjoy your journey!
Old Apr 23, 2014, 1:33 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

And UK has the APD on departures, which does not apply to transits such as DUB-LHR-where ever
Old Apr 23, 2014, 3:55 am
Suspended