Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 1, 09, 9:19 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: Delta Diamond, AA EXP (via status match 1/2013)
Posts: 88
USB ports

Sorry if this is off topic, but the Sky Magazine claims that USB ports are available on the Delta on Demand planes to charge items like IPods. Well, I found the ports (under the seat), but the two times I've tried to plug my IPod in to charge I got nothing. Both times were on domestic 763s.

Has anyone gotten these to actually work?
bradfrancini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 09, 9:50 pm   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Programs: DL PM, HH Diamond, Fairmont Prem, SPG Gold, Priority Club Plat/IC Amb, AmEx Plat
Posts: 10,836
Worked the times I've used them to charge my Blackberry. Domestic 763 in F. International 757 in BE. Ex-Song 757 in Y.
AndyTLe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 09, 10:16 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lihue, HI, USA
Programs: DL Gold Medallion, UA Premier Silver; Hilton Diamond; National Executive Elite; many with no status
Posts: 1,080
I got them to work to charge my Treo Smartphone. I had not read what they were for but I saw them and figured I'd give it a try, and it worked.
PDX-RDM-AVL-TPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 09, 11:00 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta DM 1MM™, SPG Platinum 75, AAdvantage Gold
Posts: 412
Strangely, I've had the same situation occur when attempting to use the EmPower outlet - one time, on a short (~1.5 hr) flight, I couldn't get it to work. But then I used it on another, longer flight.

I have a sneaky suspicion that they have the ability to turn the "power" off to these ports, and maybe you just have to ask them to enable it...
davakkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 09, 11:01 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,654
Sometimes they work and sometimes they don't. Just like the AC plugs. I'm not sure if there is any correlation between the 2 working. I know it is not related to the IFE functioning as I have had TV and no power.
El Boocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 09, 12:06 am   #6
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: undisclosed
Programs: DL PM, AS MVPG, SPG Plat
Posts: 49
Not sure about the USB ports, but for in seat power they generally have to turn it on, so if it doesnt work, as an FA and chances are that they forgot to turn it on.
leemaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 09, 8:20 am   #7
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,618
I've used the USB ports to charge my BlackBerry before. But I've noticed that the current must be very low as it took most of my transcon to do a full recharge. Plugging into the wall it takes 30-45 mins.

Maybe your iPod just wasn't getting enough juice to actually charge.
DaDaDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 09, 8:31 am   #8
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaDaDan View Post
I've used the USB ports to charge my BlackBerry before. But I've noticed that the current must be very low as it took most of my transcon to do a full recharge. Plugging into the wall it takes 30-45 mins.

Maybe your iPod just wasn't getting enough juice to actually charge.
This is a good point. I have had the same experience. It is enough to operate devices like a BB or Ipod, but doesn't charge very quickly.
El Boocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 09, 8:46 am   #9
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemaj View Post
Not sure about the USB ports, but for in seat power they generally have to turn it on, so if it doesnt work, as an FA and chances are that they forgot to turn it on.
Good to know.
El Boocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 10, 2:13 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: DL DM; US GP; Fairmont PL; HHonors DM; Hyatt GP Diamond; Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 189
Help with USB Power cords

I was on a 757-300 last night (ATL-DEN) and drained my fully-charged laptop battery en route, thanks to a month-long pass on Go-Go and a quirky IFE (no CNN, Comedy Channel or ESPN). I tried to use the USB power outlet under the seat and connected the cord to it and my computer's USB port as well. It did not work -- I remained on battery only. Can any of the power users aboard help me out -- what kind of a cord do I need to use or what did I do wrong last night?

Thanks!
FlynGyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 10, 2:25 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Programs: Now just a lowly DL PM/1MM. Used to be a DL fan. These days, not so much....
Posts: 3,223
I don't believe laptops can recharge from a USB port. That is primarily for iPods and the like.
DLdweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 10, 2:27 pm   #12
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Programs: DL PM, HH Diamond, Fairmont Prem, SPG Gold, Priority Club Plat/IC Amb, AmEx Plat
Posts: 10,836
The USB port is used to charge small electronics, phones, iPods, Blackberries, etc. There is no way that the port will charge a laptop.
AndyTLe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 10, 2:36 pm   #13
LBJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 5,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlynGyn View Post
I was on a 757-300 last night (ATL-DEN) and drained my fully-charged laptop battery en route, thanks to a month-long pass on Go-Go and a quirky IFE (no CNN, Comedy Channel or ESPN). I tried to use the USB power outlet under the seat and connected the cord to it and my computer's USB port as well. It did not work -- I remained on battery only. Can any of the power users aboard help me out -- what kind of a cord do I need to use or what did I do wrong last night?

Thanks!

You mean 757-200 (all the 757-300's are from NW -- no USB ports).
LBJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 10, 2:41 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: DM
Posts: 233
There is a 120v plug in the seat (at least in F) on most 757's to plug your charger into. You can't charge a laptop from a usb plug.

Last edited by fmsm; Jan 22, 10 at 2:41 pm.. Reason: typo
fmsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 10, 3:31 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: DL DM; US GP; Fairmont PL; HHonors DM; Hyatt GP Diamond; Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyTLe View Post
The USB port is used to charge small electronics, phones, iPods, Blackberries, etc. There is no way that the port will charge a laptop.

I probably should have known that -- thanks for the education!! My return flight upgrade has already cleared so I will look for the 120V outlets on that eastbound trip.
FlynGyn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:49 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.