Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Sign in using an external account

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 26, 07, 5:35 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HKG
Programs: AC SE, CX GO
Posts: 44
Nexus renew when passport expire

My passport is going to expire in a few months so I need to renew it. I understand that passport number will change after I renew the passport. How does that affect Nexus card? I noticed passport number are on the Nexus card. Do I need to renew the Nexus card in such case?

Thanks!

lamj is offline  
Old May 26, 07, 7:13 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NAN, YLW
Programs: AC*SE, UA PREM EXEC, Alaska MVP GOLD, HHonours DIAMOND, Fairmont PLATINUM
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamj View Post
My passport is going to expire in a few months so I need to renew it. I understand that passport number will change after I renew the passport. How does that affect Nexus card? I noticed passport number are on the Nexus card. Do I need to renew the Nexus card in such case?

Thanks!

You don't need to renew the Nexus card but you have to notify them of your new passport details.
fijaircan is offline  
Old May 27, 07, 12:13 am   #3
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Programs: Aeroplan, Hertz Gold
Posts: 1,011
You just drop in to an enrollment centre, provide them your new passport, then they will record the information and direct you to the Americans who will also update their records and print you a new card.
guessaaa is offline  
Old May 27, 07, 2:33 am   #4
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: YVR
Programs: AC*SE
Posts: 89
I was told you needed to go in anytime your information changes. I went to ask this when I renewed my driver's license. They told me that if I don't update it with the US side, they would take away my Nexus card if I ever used it and it got flagged with expired ID.

Additionally, the US agent told my friend that you have to update them if you ever change companies and you use Nexus for business.
tote is offline  
Old May 28, 07, 7:52 am   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 17,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by guessaaa View Post
and print you a new card.
Not anymore. I went in with new passport info a few weeks ago (Vancouver downtown) and was told that they're not printing new cards to save money (they cost about $10 each).
__________________
YQQ for the winter
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Old May 28, 07, 5:14 pm   #6
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Programs: Aeroplan, Hertz Gold
Posts: 1,011
They were at YVR as of 6 weeks ago *shrugs*
guessaaa is offline  
Old May 30, 07, 10:31 am   #7
ALW
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Ottawa [HH Silver, all else Basic]
Posts: 8,490
Is there a time limit for providing the new info? It would be much easier and cheaper to show the new passport (to use the OP's example) at Champlain NY than to make a special trip to YUL. If the next time you crossed on I-87, if you told the US agent, "I need to update my passport info with Nexus", would that do? Or do you have to make a special trip to YUL within a certain time?

=aw
ALW is offline  
Old May 30, 07, 12:44 pm   #8
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 17,764
It used to be that you could just fax in details of the new info with the surface card, but I think they need the passport scan for the air version. If you are not using the Nexus card to cross into the U.S., I don't see any problem going to Champlain to update instead of YUL.

We used to go to Blaine quite a lot to update/get the customs declaration forms.
__________________
YQQ for the winter
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Old May 30, 07, 2:35 pm   #9
ALW
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Ottawa [HH Silver, all else Basic]
Posts: 8,490
Well I'd probably want to use the Nexus lanes to go to Champlain, if there's a line. But I'd stop at the Nexus station as my first stop in the US.

=aw
ALW is offline  
 
 
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:39 pm.