Status of Same-Day Flight Change or Standby AA - US? (consolidated)

 

Old Apr 7, 14, 9:19 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: High Point, NC
Programs: None
Posts: 9,170
US doesn't have SDS and US agents probably aren't that well versed in AA programs so that may be at least part of the problem. US has MoveUp for when seats are available on an earlier flight and standby when seats are not available on the earlier flight. There are some other requirements which must be met, including that either must be requested at the airport on day of departure.

The moral is that if you walk up to the US ticket counter or a US gate agent and say "I'd like to do SDS on flight xyz" you're likely to get a blank stare.

Jim
BoeingBoy is offline  
Old Apr 8, 14, 1:12 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM
Posts: 2,080
I used MoveUp twice with no problem during the very first week of coordinated operations in January. That's not to say there aren't uninformed agents in the system.
Ready2Go is offline  
Old Apr 8, 14, 8:18 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SoCal to the rest of the world...
Programs: AA EXP with lots of BA and CX. (Disgruntled UA Lifetime Plat) - No hotel loyalty anymore
Posts: 6,343
One thing that is odd.... As a former US flier (when I was UA), I used MoveUp once on PHL-LHR no issues. One area where AA is lacking (as a former UA flyer) is doing SDC on Intl flights - even pre merger UA allowed this. Each time I've tried doing an earlier available longhaul Intl segment pull in I've been told the entire ticket will need to be re-fared??

Tried going on the earlier LHR-ORD 4 weeks ago and this week SDC NRT-DFW-LAX vs. NRT-LAX and was told "no can do" - it would be a full refare. Hoping the US policy goes to AA to allow SDC on Intl flights.
NickP 1K is offline  
Old Apr 8, 14, 10:14 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: BOS
Programs: Marriott Titanium / LTG, HHonors Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Nat'l Exec
Posts: 3,153
Originally Posted by AAPlatRN View Post
Two weeks ago was on US. Tried to SDC for earlier flight and was DENIED. Told that "systems arent integrated yet."
Were you flying US on an all-US metal itinerary bought on usairways.com?
dtremit is online now  
Old Apr 8, 14, 5:51 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: OAK/SFO/SJC
Programs: AA Plat 2MM+, HHonors, Amtrak GuestRewards
Posts: 1,158
Originally Posted by NickP 1K View Post
One thing that is odd.... As a former US flier (when I was UA), I used MoveUp once on PHL-LHR no issues. One area where AA is lacking (as a former UA flyer) is doing SDC on Intl flights - even pre merger UA allowed this. Each time I've tried doing an earlier available longhaul Intl segment pull in I've been told the entire ticket will need to be re-fared??

Tried going on the earlier LHR-ORD 4 weeks ago and this week SDC NRT-DFW-LAX vs. NRT-LAX and was told "no can do" - it would be a full refare. Hoping the US policy goes to AA to allow SDC on Intl flights.
That's consistent with my experience on intl AA flights, e.g., ex-FRA.
Hayden is offline  
Old Apr 9, 14, 12:06 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: High Point, NC
Programs: None
Posts: 9,170
For routes with enough frequency (JFK-LHR is a prime example), either SDC or MoveUp should be allowed but I have no idea if it will be. It's those 1-2 times a day destinations that are more problematic.

Jim
BoeingBoy is offline  
Old Apr 9, 14, 7:18 am
  #22  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, England
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton, Marriott/SPG Platinum, National Exec, AA EXP Emeritus
Posts: 9,085
Originally Posted by BoeingBoy View Post
For routes with enough frequency (JFK-LHR is a prime example), either SDC or MoveUp should be allowed but I have no idea if it will be. It's those 1-2 times a day destinations that are more problematic.
For what it's worth, pmAA do not offer SDC or standby on intercontinental flights like this.

--------------------

Thread title updated slightly to clarify the topic further (AA and US both have levels called "Platinum" so clarification is needed in these cases ).

~Moderator
Microwave is offline  
Old Apr 10, 14, 12:25 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Platinum, Hertz Presidents Circle
Posts: 201
What about using MoveUp on US flights in a mixed AA/US itinerary on AA stock? I have the following routing (on the same day): A - AA - B - US - C - US - D to get there. Can I use MoveUp when I get to B or C?
SanDiegoDallas is offline  
Old Apr 17, 14, 4:49 pm
  #24  
PHL
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PHL, NYC
Programs: AA Platinum, DL Silver, UA Silver, MR LT Platinum Premier
Posts: 8,332
Data point to illustrate this is not permitted yet...had an AA issued ticket on the last daily MIA-PHL flight on AA metal. Since my layover was long I went to the earlier US operated flight gate to ask the GA if I could standby. Nope. Nada. Not yet. I was hoping to cut 3 hours off my layover.
PHL is offline  
Old Apr 20, 14, 7:28 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: TPE & RMQ
Programs: CX MPO SL, IHG Spire, Hertz 5*, National Emerald Club
Posts: 3,917
Standby / MoveUp on DCA-BNA for OW elites

OK. My guess is no, but I would still like to ask if anyone has tried recently. On AA, as an OW elite, I have had no problem doing standby for free, which is a published benefit for us. However, on DCABNA and v. v., there are both AA and US FLTs, so I am wondering if Standby / MoveUp is limited to AA-to-AA and US-to-US only, or perhaps one can switch between AA and US FLTs. Does it matter whether one books on AA-code or US-code (e. g., if I am booked on a US-coded, AA-operated FLT, may I possibly change to a US-operated FLT)? I ask because OW members can currently get double miles on US-coded, US-operated FLTs, but availabilities on some FLTs are very limited. I am also aware that, unlike AA, US does not include OW elites for MoveUp, but I can give it a try anyway. I can always fly on the FLT I'm booked. Obviously if there is any AA or US elite members who have tried that and can give me recent feedback, that's highly appreciated, since I understand there may not be OW elites who have tried it on this route before.

Thanks in advance!
ernestnywang is offline  
Old Apr 25, 14, 9:26 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 32
Possible to standby on US flight if booked on AA Saver Award?

Booked on AA Saver Award from ORD-LAS with a connection in MIA. If I'm flying on US metal, can I standby on an earlier US direct flight? Is there a $75 charge to do this? Does the US policy apply here?

http://www.usairways.com/en-UK/trave...s/default.html

I have Plat status with AA and I'm pretty sure I can fly standby on an earlier AA flight without issue.

Couldn't find this addressed anywhere even though I suspect this is a common question.
serverus is offline  
Old Apr 25, 14, 9:55 am
  #27  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: BOS, BWI, DCA, IAD
Programs: American, Delta, JetBlue, United
Posts: 1,901
The applicable policies are those of AA, since you booked the award using AA miles. In general, AA permits changes on award travel at no charge as long as origin and destination remain the same.
JPG3392 is offline  
Old Apr 25, 14, 2:23 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 32
Originally Posted by JPG3392 View Post
The applicable policies are those of AA, since you booked the award using AA miles. In general, AA permits changes on award travel at no charge as long as origin and destination remain the same.
Can anyone that has done this comment on how it went down? Did the AA agent issue you a standby boarding pass to get through security on the earlier US flight?
serverus is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 10:05 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,518
Also curious on this if anyone has any insight. Looking at booking ORD-CLT-ORD with Avios, where only one flight a day is operated on AA metal. It has availability, but would like to standby on an earlier US flight if possible. The only US flight availability is on the last flight of the day, which would put most of my desired flights outside of the 6-hour MoveUp window.
linglingfool is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 3:23 pm
  #30  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: La Jolla, Ca
Programs: AA 2MM LT PLT; AS MVP Gold; HHonors Diamond; IHG PLT
Posts: 2,860
Originally Posted by linglingfool View Post
Also curious on this if anyone has any insight. Looking at booking ORD-CLT-ORD with Avios, where only one flight a day is operated on AA metal. It has availability, but would like to standby on an earlier US flight if possible. The only US flight availability is on the last flight of the day, which would put most of my desired flights outside of the 6-hour MoveUp window.
Booking with Avios is an entirely different animal - you will have to go back to BA to make ANY changes - NO standbys.
diver858 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread