Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger)
Reload this Page >

Will a 04/09 SWU cover this itin? Depart 4/30, overnight in ORD, then onto SIN

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 5, 2009, 3:06 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold-MM, AA Gold-MM, F9-Silver, Hyatt Something, Marriott Gold, IHG Plat, Hilton Diamond

I'm considering:

4/30 DEN-MCI-ORD (10AM-3PM)
5/1 ORD-NRT-SIN (12:15pm-)

Will a 4/30 SWU cover this itin? The trip departs on 4/30, has a <24 hour connection in ORD before continuing onto SIN.

I think it should be OK. But I'm not an expert.
Old Apr 5, 2009, 3:10 pm

Programs: UA 1K/3MM, AA EXP/3MM, DL MM, former fan of TWA
Anything over a 12-hour connection breaks a SWU. So even though it is a legal connection from a booking perspective, the SWU requires connection times of less than 12 hours.
Old Apr 5, 2009, 3:15 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold-MM, AA Gold-MM, F9-Silver, Hyatt Something, Marriott Gold, IHG Plat, Hilton Diamond
Originally Posted by gary_nj
Anything over a 12-hour connection breaks a SWU. So even though it is a legal connection from a booking perspective, the SWU requires connection times of less than 12 hours.
Thanks.

But when does the 24 hour rule take effect?
Old Apr 5, 2009, 3:17 pm

Programs: UA 1K, AA Plat, SPG Platinum, National Executive
Originally Posted by hobo13
Thanks.

But when does the 24 hour rule take effect?
I believe it is what constitutes a stopover.
Old Apr 5, 2009, 3:23 pm

On most international itineraries from the US, a "connection" can be up to 23:59 in length. It is the SWU rule that limits it to 11:59. And this SWU rule was only started a few years ago.