Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger)
Reload this Page >

Did I just waste 17,000 miles? (Miles-Supported Upgrade to First Class on CR7 Flight)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Did I just waste 17,000 miles? (Miles-Supported Upgrade to First Class on CR7 Flight)

Search this Thread

Old Feb 14, 2012, 12:41 pm
Original Poster

Hi. I am new to this whole business of frequent flying and upgrades. My company booked me economy IAD-COS on a United Express Flight (4 hours 6 mins) on a CR7 over supper time. As I don't fly these distances often, I used points to upgrade to First class, hoping for a bit of a nicer experience and a meal with a glass or two of wine, as a treat for myself. I read on another thread that flights operated by United Express only serve snack boxes. Did I just waste 17,000 points on a crappy snack box filled with junk food?

If yes, does anyone know if I can request my points back and go back to economy?

Last edited by petey49; Feb 14, 2012 at 12:44 pm Reason: Add info
Old Feb 14, 2012, 12:46 pm
Moderator: Hawaii-based airlines & Hawai'i forums

Programs: NEXUS/Global Entry, Delta, United, Hyatt, IHG, Marriott, and Hertz
Welcome to FlyerTalk!

Yes, I am sad to say there are no ovens on United Express flights so "meals" are of the snack-box type, even for such a long flight. Your miles-supported upgrade will get you free checked luggage, priority check-in and boarding, a wider seat and free drinks plus said snack box. I hope you find enough worth in that for your hard-earned miles.

You may request to be downgraded. The rules are as such:

Before the day of your flight, the exact fare bucket must be available. If you booked an economy class ticket in a "Q" fare bucket, the Q fare must still be available.

On the day of your flight, if there is any economy seat open, you can ask to be downgraded into it.

I believe there is no fee for recrediting your miles if you self-downgrade.