Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United Airlines Award/Premier Accelerator Rates [2019]

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Old Jan 29, 2019, 9:27 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: PrivatePilot
Print Wikipost

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29, 2019, 9:24 pm
Original Poster

Programs: SPG Titanium, United Premier 1K

Didn't see a 2019 thread for this so started one. I checked my Premier Accelerator offers across 2 reservations and this is what I am seeing:

5000 PQM/miles for $725
10000 PQM/miles for $1450
30000 PQM/miles for $4200
45000 PQM/miles for $6300
Old Jan 30, 2019, 6:13 am

How does everyone posting in these PQM threads get the $ number?

E.g. One of my offerings is below. Is this considered $1050 for 10000 PQM (10.5c each) or $800 for 10000 PQM (8c each) ?

Also, is there any guidance as to what is a "good" price for PQMs? I understand it can vary, but I'm new to this and have no idea of the price variance over the year,
Old Jan 30, 2019, 6:34 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1K, MM *G for life, BAEC Gold
One way of looking at it is to consider what you would have to pay for a mileage run. At its simplest perhaps two transcons in a day so no accommodation costs or interrupted sleep. BOS-SFO and back will earn around 5000 PQMs and can be had for around $250. There are, of course, all sorts of international runs which will cost far less per mile, but you would have to factor in hotel costs (or interrupted sleep nights) and are generally very gruelling.

So, if you need 10,000 PQMs, you could set aside a couple of days and spend around $500. Or you could buy them for somewhat more. Then it comes a question of how you value your time, whether you value lifetime BIS miles and whether you value the handful of RDMs you would earn. Everyone's calculation will be different.
Old Jan 30, 2019, 6:51 am