How to check flight load?

Old Sep 30, 17, 5:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 404
help checking loads

Hi,

Can someone check the loads for me on FRA to SFO on 14/10 UA59 please?

Thanks
haroon145 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 17, 11:00 pm
  #2  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 48,171
Originally Posted by haroon145 View Post
Hi,

Can someone check the loads for me on FRA to SFO on 14/10 UA59 please?

Thanks
Access to load are considered proprietary by the airlines and therefore not available for public access.
Seat maps are public but not reliable.

You can access Expert Mode by enabling it in your UA profile.

You can see Business class info by use of https://www.cablepick.net/united -- this is a hack of UA Flight Status. May take repeated attempts to get to work.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Sep 30, 17, 11:24 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 8,277
Or pay for a subscription to ExpertFlyer (www.experflyer.com)

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  
Old Sep 30, 17, 11:46 pm
  #4  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 48,171
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
Or pay for a subscription to ExpertFlyer (www.experflyer.com)
But that still does not provide the true "loads." Just provides a partial view of the Expert mode report.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Sep 30, 17, 11:54 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 8,277
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
But that still does not provide the true "loads." Just provides a partial view of the Expert mode report.
Obviously. But the OP is implying "hey, how full is this aircraft?" EF is another way to do it as are the methods you replied with.

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  
Old Oct 1, 17, 12:01 am
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 42,380
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
Obviously. But the OP is implying "hey, how full is this aircraft?" EF is another way to do it as are the methods you replied with.

-RM
EF provides no information on "loads" that is not already available on united.com for free, i.e., inventory and seat maps.
Kacee is online now  
Old Apr 14, 18, 12:59 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 84
How to check flight load?

is it possible to check the load situation on a UA flight? Like how many seats are left.

tha me in advance.
Flyingwasabi is offline  
Old Apr 14, 18, 1:01 am
  #8  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 48,171
In Economy, other than looking at the seatmap (a poor indicator), no.

When just a few seats remain, Expert Mode provides info on the number of seats remaining to be sold.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 14, 18, 1:19 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 84
So which fare class should i look for?
Y? M?
if it says Y9 then it means that only 9 seats in economy are left?
Flyingwasabi is offline  
Old Apr 14, 18, 1:42 am
  #10  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 48,171
Originally Posted by Flyingwasabi View Post
So which fare class should i look for?
Y? M?
if it says Y9 then it means that only 9 seats in economy are left?
No, if less than Y9, then you can sort of believe, otherwise if there are multiple 9s on economy fare class, then it not providing anything useful

So except when Y is nearly fully booked, there is no useful, public, information on economy load.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 14, 18, 7:58 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DAY/CMH
Programs: UA MileagePlus
Posts: 2,311
Originally Posted by Flyingwasabi View Post
S
o if it says Y9 then it means that only 9 seats in economy are left?
No. Y9 means "nine or more Y seats available".
ajGoes is offline  
Old Apr 14, 18, 8:52 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 11,127
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
No, if less than Y9, then you can sort of believe, otherwise if there are multiple 9s on economy fare class, then it not providing anything useful

So except when Y is nearly fully booked, there is no useful, public, information on economy load.
The for sale numbers don't match actual loads, due to overbooking both into premium cabin (if any) as well as in general (expecting no-shows/misconnects/etc).
mduell is online now  
Old Apr 14, 18, 12:20 pm
  #13  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 48,171
Originally Posted by mduell View Post
The for sale numbers don't match actual loads, due to overbooking both into premium cabin (if any) as well as in general (expecting no-shows/misconnects/etc).
Very true but Y less than 9 is an indication of a flight nearing capacity. The exact number is still unknown but that is about the only indication one can get from the public numbers which was the OP's. The intent of the comment was to point out how little one can know or derive from the public information.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 14, 18, 1:33 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 11,239
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
.........point out how little one can know or derive from the public information.
Exactly and that's how airlines want it. UA certainly doesn't want AA to know their actual flight loads for each flight and vice versa.
TerryK is online now  
Old Apr 14, 18, 4:06 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4,908
Originally Posted by TerryK View Post
Exactly and that's how airlines want it. UA certainly doesn't want AA to know their actual flight loads for each flight and vice versa.
Is it really that valuable? They implicitly publish their J/F loads.
fumje is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread