Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Do you feel unsafe or as though your safety is vulnerable on a United flight?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Do you feel unsafe or as though your safety is vulnerable on a United flight?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 16, 2017, 4:43 pm
Suspended

Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Originally Posted by halls120
I've been flying since 1971. I've never been on a flight where anyone was removed because they posed a danger to the safety of the flight. I doubt I'm alone in this regard.
I've never been on a flight when it's been destroyed or had the airframe seriously damaged in an attack, and I doubt I am alone in that. And yet enough people feel vulnerable on flights that we have a huge, expensive dog and pony show going on in the name of safety/security at airports across the country which keeps getting worse and worse. The post-9/11 airline and other airport-assigned employee power-tripping has left customers feeling vulnerable when dealing with airline employees and the TSA. And the UA Dao incident is yet another thing that makes some passengers and others feel vulnerable in some way or another when traveling. While some feelings of vulnerability are anything but entirely rational and the actions taken as a result of such feelings may be questionable -- even literally ridiculous -- it doesn't mean the feelings of vulnerability don't exist and haven't grown worse for passengers. The UA Dao incident has increased some sense of vulnerability and is a part of the picture about why UA is under pressure in some ways due to the Dao incident.
Old Apr 16, 2017, 5:05 pm

Programs: UA 1K
Originally Posted by halls120