Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Check-through luggage. Transfer between UA and TG - different weight limits?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 19, 2015, 9:30 pm
Original Poster

Programs: MileagePlus

Hello,

I bought a one-way award using MileagePlus. I don't have any status yet as I'm new to the game. My first two flights are on United and then another two flights are on Thai Airways. United allows checking in two bags @ 50 lbs each but TG has a total limit of 66 lbs regardless of how many pieces I have. Will I be allowed to check the luggage through to my final destination?

I really want to bring as much luggage as possible as we are moving to another country. However, the flight starts in Singapore and ends in Auckland. I heard that United counters at Changi aren't open until two or three hours before the departure and if they don't allow me to check in more than 66 lbs, I will have no time to send the luggage via mail.

The complete itinerary looks like this:

FLIGHT INFORMATION
Sat, 13JUN15 UA896 SINGAPORE - HONG KONG
Sat, 13JUN15 UA117 HONG KONG - HO CHI MINH CITY
Sun, 14JUN15 TG557 HO CHI MINH CITY - BANGKOK
Mon, 15JUN15 TG491 BANGKOK - AUCKLAND

Nevermind the number of flights, I booked them with 20 hour long layovers so we can see the cities above on our trip.
Old May 19, 2015, 10:21 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

What does it say on united.com for your PNR or on your e-ticket?

I am still pretty confused by the rules but my understanding is:

Assuming the bags are tagged directly, you would think the IATA Most Significant Carrier (MSC) rule applies. In this case, it would be TG because it crosses the IATA sub-areas. So, TG rules applies for the entire journey.

Maybe UA won't care and let you put through. I have heard people getting charged by the connecting carrier even though they thru-checked their bags.