Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated FCO lounge / connection time / logistics - Domestic & International

Consolidated FCO lounge / connection time / logistics - Domestic & International

Old Aug 4, 13, 1:14 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: UA Gold
Posts: 192
Consolidated FCO lounge / connection time / logistics - Domestic & International

Flying FCO-EWR tomorrow. My boarding pass says "check in at terminal 5 and take the bus to terminal and then all UA flights depart from Terminal C." Since I already have my boarding pass and have carry on only, can I go directly to terminal C? (Planning on taking the train to FCO and then to Customs and Global Blue--supposed to get a a VAT refund--if that makes a difference.) Is there a lounge at C? My UA app has such a tiny map that it is hard to tell....

Thanks!

Last edited by TH310; Aug 4, 13 at 1:16 pm Reason: clarity
TH310 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 13, 4:25 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: ABQ>actually, Santa Fe, NM
Programs: Jet blue true blue
Posts: 8
Anyone know what terminal My UA flight from Dulles will arrive at FCO?

IAD >FCO
Anyone know what terminal My UA flight from Dulles will arrive at FCO?

My sister is picking me up by car at FCO and she is asking me this question.
TKS.
DesertRose777 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 13, 4:35 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Boston
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 255
Is this flight UA42? If past history is any indication, it should arrive at Terminal 3.
ksingh0311 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 13, 4:37 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: EWR, BDL
Posts: 4,469
Originally Posted by DesertRose777 View Post
IAD >FCO
Anyone know what terminal My UA flight from Dulles will arrive at FCO?

My sister is picking me up by car at FCO and she is asking me this question.
TKS.
It arrives at Terminal 3.
JOSECONLSCREW28 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 13, 4:54 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: ABQ>actually, Santa Fe, NM
Programs: Jet blue true blue
Posts: 8
Yes, it' Flight UA42 .
Thanks so much , ill tell her Terminal 3.
Nice , cuz she is a middle aged EX pat (30 yrs in Rome) And very Italian. She doesn't do internet, or texting. But she can drive the streets of Rome like a fiend! Grazie, Ciao!
DesertRose777 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 13, 5:52 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Programs: Hotels.com WR Silver ;)
Posts: 240
All non-schengen non-LCC flights arrive at T3. US Carrier and El Al flights depart from "T5" which isn't really a Terminal at all but just a check-in/security building. Then you're bused to T3 where the flight actually departs.
Zappity is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 6:47 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Coast USA
Programs: UA GS/4 MM, AA Life P 3MM, Hilton D, Hyatt D, R C/Marriott P, SPG Life P
Posts: 7,553
UA Depatures from FCO (Rome): Departs from Which Terminal?

Printed boarding passes FCO to IAD. The boarding passes say check luggage at Terminal 5 and shuttle bus operates from Terminal 3. Allow extra time. If you have your boarding passes and will not check luggage which terminal at FCO is the UA counter and where does the plane board/depart from? Thank you.
RTWSTARALLIANCE is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 8:12 am
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.8MM, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum/Lifetime Gold
Posts: 7,658
Terminal 5. Was there last week. All flights to US and Israel check-in at T5. Then you are bussed to T3.
UAPremExecflyer is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 8:44 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New York Area
Programs: Mileage Plus Platinum
Posts: 153
UA Depatures from FCO (Rome): Departs from Which Terminal?

Check in at Terminal 5. After checking in and going though security and passport control in the terminal you will be bused to boarding area G from where the flight departs. There is a shuttle from Terminal 3 to Terminal 5 for those who arrive at FCO on the train.
Wombat1 is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 9:00 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York NY
Programs: UA Gold, CO Plat, CO Million Miler
Posts: 2,527
Originally Posted by UAPremExecflyer View Post
Terminal 5. Was there last week. All flights to US and Israel check-in at T5. Then you are bussed to T3.
You're not exactly bussed to Terminal 3.....you're bussed airside to the satellite boarding area G which is connected to Terminal 3 by a subterranean shuttle train. Long story short, you go thru special (heightened security) checkin procedures at T5 which has no gates of its own and then are bussed to the same gates you would have gone thru if you went thru security at T3. Seems a bit stupid to me as anyone going thru T5 loses their sanitation when they come in contact with others at G Boarding gates that went thru T3 security, although I guess their checked luggage has had extra inspection procedures and is kept separate.
hughw is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 9:09 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New York Area
Programs: Mileage Plus Platinum
Posts: 153
UA Depatures from FCO (Rome): Departs from Which Terminal?

It does have that weakness but it is a vast improvement over the former (post 9/11) method of security controls in Terminal 3.
Wombat1 is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 10:19 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 2,376
RTW.....Not as bad as it sounds. Was there 3 weeks ago. Allow an extra 10 -15 minutes.

Still waiting to find a date that will match up with your Maui trips. Take care and safe travels.
LAXOGG is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 10:20 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Honolulu Harbor
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 12,370
Originally Posted by Wombat1 View Post
...There is a shuttle from Terminal 3 to Terminal 5 for those who arrive at FCO on the train.
The shuttle bus location is poorly marked, IMHO. It's at the far end (left side, as you look at terminal) on the 2nd level. You'll see some concrete blocks just beyond which a couple of extra lanes cut off the main terminal road. Bus stops in one of those lanes.
IAH-OIL-TRASH is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 11:17 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Coast USA
Programs: UA GS/4 MM, AA Life P 3MM, Hilton D, Hyatt D, R C/Marriott P, SPG Life P
Posts: 7,553
Thank you all for the quick reply. Sure this will useful for all out of FCO.
RTWSTARALLIANCE is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 11:40 am
  #15  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX/SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott AMB; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 49,949
Originally Posted by IAH-OIL-TRASH View Post
The shuttle bus location is poorly marked, IMHO. It's at the far end (left side, as you look at terminal) on the 2nd level. You'll see some concrete blocks just beyond which a couple of extra lanes cut off the main terminal road. Bus stops in one of those lanes.
Yup. The signs walking from the train say "T5" but what they really mean is this is where you catch the bus to T5. I did not see the bus stop actually marked; it's right next to the outdoor smoking area.

T5 is a temporary structure. The check-in lines were pretty bad when I was there. They have kiosks if you're just carrying on, and I used one of those. Security was quick, then they bus you to the G satellite. I had plenty of time to check out the Alitalia lounge, which wasn't bad at all.
Kacee is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread