Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Still using "ON" booking codes. Thought this had stopped

Still using "ON" booking codes. Thought this had stopped

Old May 13, 12, 6:58 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Posts: 1,710
Still using "ON" booking codes. Thought this had stopped

So I booked a 5 day trip to LHR from SFO with spouse over Thanksgiving to do theatre and shopping. (Grandkids all at in-laws). I booked D-fares so as to use my SWU's to elevate to the F cabin. Spent good money ($6K per tkt). Seats and all are worked out, but the booking code shows the dreaded "ON".

Does this mean I will have to call afterward and cajole and plead for the agent to change the travel date, etc., to get the flight to credit on the MP program? Anybody know?

I've been doing this on all reservations made prior to the March 3 meltdown. But the new ones that I've had upgrade on have been booked in "R". I don't mind participating in relentless struggles, but this is getting old, n'est pas? One would think they would stop with the "ON" booking codes.
FullFare is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 7:26 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 772
Biz to first upgrade is correctly ON. http://boardingarea.com/blogs/thewan...he-new-united/
There should be another flag on the PNR to indicate that you should get miles.
okrogius is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 7:26 pm
  #3  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 53,962
Originally Posted by FullFare View Post
.... I booked D-fares so as to use my SWU's to elevate to the F cabin. Spent good money ($6K per tkt). Seats and all are worked out, but the booking code shows the dreaded "ON"......
That is actually correct D to 3-class F upgrade is ON, as is award bookings into 3 class F.

R is the correct code for economy to next class ( Business or Domestic F).
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 8:21 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
That is actually correct D to 3-class F upgrade is ON, as is award bookings into 3 class F.

R is the correct code for economy to next class ( Business or Domestic F).
I looked at the chart, but it is an "award" chart. I also looked at my PNR and it doesn't talk about "miles". Regardless, I'll just chill and be prepared to call in to squawk if the miles don't appear. Given what's happened this year, I'm keeping my expectations reduced. "ON" wasn't a crowd-pleaser.
FullFare is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 9:02 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai / NYC
Programs: EK-IO, UA-1K2MM, ETIHAD-GOLD, SPG-PLAT LIFETIME, JUMEIRAH SERIUS GOLD
Posts: 5,220
I have a number of C/D to F TPAC upgrades since 3/3. They ALL showed ON and got full biz credit w no problem
chinatraderjmr is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 9:11 pm
  #6  
Moderator: Hyatt Gold Passport & Star Alliance
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: London, UK
Programs: UA-1K 3MM/AA-Ex Plat/HY- LT Globalist/BA-CCR/GGL/GfL
Posts: 10,884
I have a domestic PMUA ticket that shows ON for Y->F. Should I call and get this fixed please?
Markie is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 9:16 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,204
Originally Posted by Markie View Post
I have a domestic PMUA ticket that shows ON for Y->F. Should I call and get this fixed please?
The upgrade will likely be fine. Where you're probably going to see trouble is in getting that to credit properly after you fly it.
sbm12 is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 10:30 pm
  #8  
Moderator: Mileage Run, United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The City/Honolulu
Programs: UA 3MM; Hyatt Glob*****; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,389
Originally Posted by Markie View Post
I have a domestic PMUA ticket that shows ON for Y->F. Should I call and get this fixed please?
I have the same issue.
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
The upgrade will likely be fine. Where you're probably going to see trouble is in getting that to credit properly after you fly it.
Is there anything that can be done prior to flying to make sure it credits properly?
Pat89339 is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 10:34 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 772
Originally Posted by FullFare View Post
I looked at the chart, but it is an "award" chart. I also looked at my PNR and it doesn't talk about "miles". Regardless, I'll just chill and be prepared to call in to squawk if the miles don't appear. Given what's happened this year, I'm keeping my expectations reduced. "ON" wasn't a crowd-pleaser.
Scroll down - same code can be used for more than one thing.

Of course keeping expectations low is never a bad idea.

Originally Posted by Pat89339 View Post
I have the same issue.

Is there anything that can be done prior to flying to make sure it credits properly?
For domestic Y->upgraded F you should indeed see R or RN. You can call reservations and try to get them to change it - they might, or might tell you to wait for an automatic sweep (or call after the fact).

Last edited by iluv2fly; May 14, 12 at 2:09 am Reason: merge
okrogius is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 10:41 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Flyover Country
Programs: United 1K/GS, AA Gold
Posts: 58
As I understand it, the way to get the mileage credit after flying ON (assuming it doesn't clear on its own) is to call and ask the agent to retroactively switch the dates of travel. This can only be done after the flight is completed. This way they can restore your original booking class and credit the miles.

I recently flew SFO-ICN and ICN-SFO in Z, upgraded with miles. I was able to get them to apply this correction with a minimum of fuss (5 minutes total on the phone) and got the miles credited within a few days after. It's still pain, but I think the agents know how to fix it. If the one you get doesn't know how, call back until you get someone who does.
Cardiac Kid is offline  
Old May 13, 12, 10:45 pm
  #11  
Moderator: Mileage Run, United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The City/Honolulu
Programs: UA 3MM; Hyatt Glob*****; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,389
Originally Posted by okrogius View Post
For domestic Y->upgraded F you should indeed see R or RN. You can call reservations and try to get them to change it - they might, or might tell you to wait for an automatic sweep (or call after the fact).
It's the domestic F portion (2-class 777) of an international itinerary upgraded with a SWU prior to 3/3.
Pat89339 is offline  
Old May 14, 12, 1:46 am
  #12  
Moderator: Hyatt Gold Passport & Star Alliance
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: London, UK
Programs: UA-1K 3MM/AA-Ex Plat/HY- LT Globalist/BA-CCR/GGL/GfL
Posts: 10,884
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
The upgrade will likely be fine. Where you're probably going to see trouble is in getting that to credit properly after you fly it.
Thanks Seth. Of course when I called, they had no idea this was a problem and as there was no R space, could not change it - sound bite 'we're not allowed to overbook in First Class'

Will wait for credit or not.
Markie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: